PDA

View Full Version : Numeric: Box Tool



buggedoff
10-06-2011, 02:04 AM
Hello,

I've Lightwave 9.6 (now I am downloading Trial for 10.1). My problem is I can't find 'Numeric: Box Tool'
http://img811.imageshack.us/img811/5193/numericboxtool.jpg

cagey5
10-06-2011, 03:25 AM
Press 'n' to keep numeric panel open then click box tool.

buggedoff
10-06-2011, 04:17 AM
Where is 'Box Tool'?
Have you got any screenshots?

lardbros
10-06-2011, 06:54 AM
The box tool hasn't actually moved from 9.6 to v10.1. Try pressing Shift-x

That activates the box tool, then press 'n' to bring up the numeric panel. To be honest, if you've used LW before, it should be pretty straight forward. If you haven't, you may want to read the manual, or help files. :)

The actual button for the box tool is under the 'create' tab, at the top under primitives!

buggedoff
10-06-2011, 07:32 AM
The actual button for the box tool is under the 'create' tab, at the top under primitives!

Am I an Idiot?? 'At the top under primitives is gear!
http://img403.imageshack.us/img403/4941/iamidiot.jpg

Builtdown
10-06-2011, 08:24 AM
You are using Layout? Switch to Modeler.

lardbros
10-06-2011, 08:25 AM
Edited... answered with the wrong answer! :D

lardbros
10-06-2011, 08:26 AM
You are using Layout? Switch to Modeler.

Haha, well spotted... I was convinced he was in Modeller for some reason.


Builtdown is right... you cannot model in Layout, you need to get over to Modeller in order to get all your modelling tools!

buggedoff
10-06-2011, 10:41 AM
Ok thanks, it worked for me in Modeler. :agree:
But what should I do for Layout? :cursin:

PS: I'm using LightWave 9.6 :newtek:

JeffrySG
10-06-2011, 11:45 AM
modeler is where you create all of your 3d models and set up your surfaces (and possibly texture) and layout is where you texture, set up your scene with your different models, light, rig, animate and render. Two separate apps that work together. It's a little different workflow than most other 3d applications.

buggedoff
10-06-2011, 01:24 PM
modeler is where you create all of your 3d models and set up your surfaces (and possibly texture) and layout is where you texture, set up your scene with your different models, light, rig, animate and render. Two separate apps that work together. It's a little different workflow than most other 3d applications.

I know, but i want to make a track for a motorcycle game, and for this i need this Numeric Window in Layout.

lardbros
10-06-2011, 01:31 PM
You really don't.... you don't even need Layout if you're creating objects for games. That's one good reason Layout and Modeller are split up. I'd recommend having a look for some LW modelling tutorials, it's relatively simple when you get the hang of it!

Sensei
10-06-2011, 03:39 PM
Layout doesn't and never had interactive modeling tools.

buggedoff
10-07-2011, 09:58 AM
Yeah, I know my misstake. In the 'Create your own Track' was a screenshot of Modeler not of Layout. Sorry!
@lardbros (and others) Thank you for all!