PDA

View Full Version : Studio audio buzzing sound

JzW
09-26-2011, 04:55 PM
Newbie here...

Can anyone help?

Tricaster Studio
Yamaha EMX512SC mixer

Using the RCA "rec out" jacks on the Yamaha, to the L & R 1/4" inputs on the Studio, we're having a problem with:

1. low buzz sound in the recording:
sample: http://www.mediafire.com/?hdpi2o4vnn499

2. low recorded audio levels

We tried a RadioShack ground loop filter - no change.

Dexter2999
09-26-2011, 05:20 PM
Sometimes gear is just noisy. We used to have some Yamaha effects units added a buzz. Could also be from your power.

Hopper
09-26-2011, 08:51 PM
Sounds like a regular 60Hz hum to me. If your power is bad, get a filtered power supply (e.g Furman) and use that instead of directly to the AC outlet.

Could also be a ground issue (try another circuit for your power source), crappy cables (use XLR when you can), or EMI somewhere near the unit. Make sure all your gain pots are down on the mixer (also your effects return should be at 0 as well as the SPX processor - even if it is off). Any Yamaha mixer I have used (quite a few) has always been noisy. Even most cheap Bheringer's are quieter.

JzW
10-01-2011, 07:05 AM
Thank you everyone for all your help.
So here's what I did:

I disconnected everything connected to the Studio, so it's only:
keyboard, mouse, monitor & tricaster (the only 2 powered items: monitor & tricaster)

1. I got a line conditioner (tripp-lite) LC1800.
2. Connected the Studio and monitor to it, as those are the only
powered items I have connected.
3. Turned the audio all the way up (in the visual I see noise), and
recorded... I have the same problem: the 60Hz hum.

Tried connecting to two different outlets on the other side of the building, with the Line Conditioner - still same 60Hz hum.

I think the hum is coming from an internal component on the Studio.
Is that possible? And if so, what can I do? It is ruining all the recordings.