PDA

View Full Version : Matchmove 3d tank



pilF
09-26-2011, 11:44 AM
Here's a project i did finish for a change. Shot some deserted barracks, tracked them in PFmatchit. Built a tank in LW of a monument, textured in 3dcoat, shot a hdr panorama and stitched it in PTgui. Backfrop lit and rendered the model in LW 10.1 (in HD @ 13min/f) and tweaked it only a little bit in AE. You can see all of the 8 seconds animation here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iS3auIf9uCk&feature=player_profilepage

Afalk
09-26-2011, 12:51 PM
Very nice !

gordonrobb
09-26-2011, 02:04 PM
Indeed.

chikega
09-26-2011, 08:52 PM
Very well done!

Hopper
09-26-2011, 09:02 PM
Great job. Really nice.

pilF
09-27-2011, 01:18 AM
Thanks guys, only thing i would've liked to add was some subtle reflection. Tried to multipass render that with exrtrader but then rendertimes went through the roof. Taking forever with the transparant polygons in the sibl groundplane. Don't quite understand why though.

archijam
09-27-2011, 02:01 AM
Leuk, zeg! :)

Mitja
09-27-2011, 02:10 AM
nice and interesting to watch!

abdelkarim
09-27-2011, 03:53 AM
great i think u need just mybe small grain to match you bg with ur obj. some noise ex.. u know. great and really nice i like it.

arsad
09-27-2011, 05:21 AM
Very nice track and integration. For me the shadows in between the tracks are too dark.
Other than that good work!

pilF
09-27-2011, 12:14 PM
Aye, so true arsad and abdelkarim, i'd planned to do that with the multipass render layers out of extrader but they took too long. I asked the kind people at db&w and they replied (almost instantly):

"If you use any of the "VIPER" modes, exrTrader will request all buffers from Layout, regardless of wether it eventually saves them or not (because it expects to display them in VIPER later one).

If you change the render mode to "Save Only" then it will only request the buffers it needs.

I suspect creating one of the buffers that LW provides, which you don't save though, causes the extra render hit."

So it was probably me turning the wrong switch.

erikals
09-28-2011, 12:52 AM
very cool :]

MAUROCOR
10-06-2011, 02:22 PM
Congratulations, very good work!
The tank is great and the composition integration is perfect!
Thumbs up!!!:thumbsup:

oobievision
10-24-2011, 05:07 PM
Thanks guys, only thing i would've liked to add was some subtle reflection. Tried to multipass render that with exrtrader but then rendertimes went through the roof. Taking forever with the transparant polygons in the sibl groundplane. Don't quite understand why though.

if you havent already select the transparent sibl ground plane and in the properties check off not seen by camera that should help a bit.

pilF
10-25-2011, 06:34 AM
Thanks oobievision that helped, now back to avarage of 6 min per HD frame. Any suggestions on how to rig the tanktrack (apart from vehicle rigger and the morphtrick by william vaaghan). Something like this with effectors etc would be great but i'm not sure it could be done in LW http://www.luxology.com/modo/401.animation.part.4/

yaschan
11-02-2011, 08:43 AM
Very cool!

archijam
11-02-2011, 09:59 AM
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?t=78022&highlight=tank+track