PDA

View Full Version : Domino Effect? Help please



daz1761
09-17-2011, 02:48 PM
I am trying to create a domino roll effect within LW10, iv'e created a domino and imported it into layout with the intent of cloning it once i have set it up correctly. I have added an collision named floor (acting as a floor) and I have applied the hardFX to my domino.

In order for the domino to fall I have applied a -100mm of force down the Z axis with the gravity of -9.8 etc.

After lots of calculations, I have tweeked and experimented with all the parameters and no matter what i do, the domino just keeps flipping over and over and over, but more annoyingly it always does it in slow motion.

Any help would be much appreciated

I have attached a .zip file if needed

Thanks in advance

COBRASoft
09-17-2011, 04:31 PM
Try IBounce, with LW native tools it's as good as impossible.

daz1761
09-18-2011, 01:32 PM
Try IBounce, with LW native tools it's as good as impossible.

Sorry to sound thick, but where would i find it?

Many thanks

erikals
09-18-2011, 02:59 PM
sorry, not out, still in beta, try this one...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vO5cxBUW7jA

Mr Rid
09-18-2011, 10:26 PM
LW dynamics are very clunky. The tut may do ya, but just so you know-

Is your domino intended to be 18 feet high? Scale matters, and thats partly why it appears 'slo-mo.' A HUGE mistake some animators make is starting things off at the wrong scale and can paint themselves into a corner down the line, particularly with dynamics. Use another collision object to nudge the domino. You dont want an initial force on the Z, as it will just keep pushing the domino forever.

Your floor needs to be at least 100 Bound, otherwise objects pass thru. And add some Friction to prevent the domino from sliding.

The domino pivot should be centered for it to spin correctly.

Set rotation to Force.

Might overcrank Torque Max to 200 and play with Resist Spin values below 1, and enable Size Effect (adjusts behavior to match the scale of the object).

Enable Start by Collision so motion does not begin before initial nudge collision. Enable Stop by Stablizer so object will eventually stop bouncing (enter a min Break Distance, although 0 may work)

daz1761
09-22-2011, 08:32 AM
Thanks for the advice, it helped a lot as I ended up starting from scratch building a basic domino about 1.5 meters high, the reason it was 18ft was because the original file was an .eps from illustrator but I didn't realize it was so big until you said.

You are right about the dynamics being clunky lol, I am just in the middle of cloning the dominoes but if they are in a straight line the dynamics engine does some weird stuff like one of the dominoes falling right through on of the other dominoes, so far i have been able to manage to get 5 dominoes to interact fairly ok, but by adjusting the rotation and moving them out of alignment.

I would love to know what the guy does on the You Tube tutorial but its a shame there is no audio :( there are a few demos of dominoes in LW but they behave like mine where each domino hits and just slides of the back of the domino in front.

Another idea I had was to clone all the dominoes in Modeler and have them follow a spline but sadly ive not been able to make it happen yet and was wondering what i need to do as i have tried the "Clone With Motion File" but had no luck.

Here is a pic of what I would like to try and do....

Thanks in advance

P.s Ive just edited this in as I have just tried to make the domino look more like a domino by doing a Boolean and making 18 holes so I could color in the spots with colors and the dynamic engine didnt like it and made the dominow judder on the ground so I have had to leave it plain for now :(

Mr Rid
09-23-2011, 03:56 PM
I'm not familiar with these plugs, but there may be a way to do this with DP Instancing, maybe in combination with DP's Poly Move or Part Move.

gerardstrada
09-26-2011, 02:02 AM
You might want to run de calc with a simpler mesh, but DP Part Move can be indeed useful for solving this effect procedurally. Though a more controllable way could be in the Item Motion Node Editor as it's shown in this Bryan Phillips' tutorial (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vO5cxBUW7jA). It has no audio but the whole process is there in a step-by-step way. Dominoes there slide a bit because he's using a procedural texture to get some randomness in the behavior of on each domino piece. I guess there are some other ways to achieve similar results in the Motion Node Editor with the DP TimeLag node, a spline and DP Point Info (skipping the PFX part).

A much more simpler setup can be achieved just in Displacement Node Editor as it's shown in this Denis Pontonnier sample (http://forums.newtek.com/showpost.php?p=833020&postcount=19) with his Part Move node. The node has been updated since then and it seems it behaves a bit different now, but things can work by using direction in this way instead of rotation:

http://imagic.ddgenvivo.tv/forums/PartMove/DPMsetup1.png

May work for general planes:


http://imagic.ddgenvivo.tv/forums/PartMove/dominoes.gif

A curious thing for the envelope setup within the DP TimeLag node is that the pitch rotation should not begin at 0 (otherwise the rotation goes from the first frame to the next one abruptly - I think this in the DP PartMove side). An initial value of 0.01 works here for the initial value of rotation envelope. A way to add some randomness might be by adding a procedural texture to the position parameter:

http://imagic.ddgenvivo.tv/forums/PartMove/DPMsetup2.png

The Vector Scalar nodes split the vector in its XYZ components. The opacity and scale of the texture drives the randomness of the X and Z axes.

http://imagic.ddgenvivo.tv/forums/PartMove/dominus.gif

I guess there are some other ways to achieve this effect with the Displacement Node Editor - perhaps by running MDD files in a sequential way (from a pre-calculated dynamic solution) or even with morphmaps driven by gradients maybe.



Gerardo

Dennik
09-27-2011, 09:14 PM
If anyone ever makes a full scale domino animation out of LW dynamics alone, please let me know. I've been dying to use LW's dynamics for...6-7 years now? Maybe more, I've lost count.

erikals
09-28-2011, 01:28 AM
looks Great Gerardo... as always... :]

here is a way to do it in blender... (for then to export to LW)
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?t=119527&page=8