PDA

View Full Version : LW 10 not loading .3DS files



boomforeal
09-15-2011, 06:59 PM
I cant seem to load .3DS files into modeller with LW 10...Anyone know why this might be?

rsfd
09-16-2011, 05:21 AM
I remember an issue with the Modeler config file in LW10, where a writing error made .3ds, .dae, .fbx files unaccessable.

The fix is pretty easy:
Open the config file (~/Library/Application Support/NewTek/LightWave/10.0/Modeler10) in a text editor and replace the comma separators between these file types (at the "FileType Objects" line) with semikolons.
Save file and you're done (of course, you could make a backup of the config file first).

boomforeal
09-18-2011, 05:05 PM
Thanks...But I don't seem to have that config file in that location....Probably just the version MAC OS I'm using (10.6.6)...I'll have a search

rsfd
09-19-2011, 05:19 AM
hmm, shouldn't have to do with the OS version.
It's the default Modeler config file (which will be created for each user account on your machine).
Did you probably re-direct them somehow or use a non-default setup?
As, even when it's missing, LW creates this file freshly when launched again.

boomforeal
09-19-2011, 05:02 PM
Thanks....Just upgraded 10.1 and its been fixed with the new release anyway.

rsfd
09-20-2011, 04:49 AM
;) cheers!