PDA

View Full Version : Adaptive Sampling



Mr. Wilde
09-09-2011, 11:22 AM
Hi,

trying to better understand the adaptive sampling system.

Is there a way to know how many adaptive sampling passes will be run at a specific AS threshold? And how many samples each pass has?

This chart (http://www.except.nl/lightwave/aa/index.htm#AS) says that there's a maximum of 7 passes at AA levels 1-3, 6 passes at levels 4-7, and so forth... And the maximum amount of samples at AA 1 is 128, at AA 2 it's 256, etc...

What AS thresholds give me 7 passes, 6 passes, etc... at AA level 1 for example?

Thanks,
Rob

greg.reyna
09-09-2011, 01:50 PM
See Dave Jerrard's link:

http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?t=60517

toby
09-09-2011, 05:08 PM
lots of reading for you
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?t=112208 (3rd page)
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?t=121827

but basically the number of passes depends on how grainy or jaggy your image is; the more it is, the more passes it gets. There is no set amount.

Mr. Wilde
09-09-2011, 06:34 PM
See Dave Jerrard's link:

http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?t=60517

It seems I have no privileges to access that link.


Mr. Wilde, you do not have permission to access this page. This could be due to one of several reasons:

Your user account may not have sufficient privileges to access this page. Are you trying to edit someone else's post, access administrative features or some other privileged system?
If you are trying to post, the administrator may have disabled your account, or it may be awaiting activation.

toby
09-09-2011, 06:46 PM
It seems I have no privileges to access that link.
It's in the open beta section -
But someone made his posts into pdf's, here you go

Mr. Wilde
09-10-2011, 07:23 AM
Wow, thanks! Now that clears things up. :thumbsup: