PDA

View Full Version : Render not as nice as VPR



Philbert
09-08-2011, 12:25 AM
Any thoughts on this, I'm pretty happy with my VPR render in this test but the F9 render looks awful. The glass and the liquid are both using the Dielectric material node, other than one basic light everything else is pretty much at the default I think.

http://img40.imageshack.us/img40/6010/renderprob.th.jpg (http://img40.imageshack.us/img40/6010/renderprob.jpg)

Edit: I just read in another thread about turning off VPR Draft Mode when uing Dielectric. Now they both look awful, but the VPR still looks better.

Sensei
09-08-2011, 12:36 AM
For me it looks like that VPR when ray recursion is reached, takes color from environment (so it's default black), but regular render is taking it from surrounding geometry- gray walls..
Try using some wicked pink or so as environment color in Backdrop Effects window to see how render & VPR looks like with it.
If you don't mind, attach scene & texture so we will play with it.

Philbert
09-08-2011, 12:44 AM
That's not gray geometry it's the environment color.

Sensei
09-08-2011, 12:58 AM
Use black as environment color and render should looks like VPR in the first post..

Philbert
09-08-2011, 01:21 AM
Not quite.

http://content.screencast.com/users/philnolan3d/folders/Jing/media/fe873234-a6fe-4597-8704-a99f71196826/2011-09-08_0325.png

I'm thinking I need to pick a nice dark environment map. I was looking at these but I can't figure out how to open a .pic file. Any idea?
http://graphics.cs.kuleuven.be/index.php/environment-maps

Sensei
09-08-2011, 01:35 AM
I downloaded the first of these .pic, then renamed to .hdr, and it loaded fine to Photoshop, but very dark. Clicked Mode > 8 bits, and something like "Make histogram equal" (I have Polish Photoshop) and it started looking like preview on website.. ;)

Philbert
09-08-2011, 01:38 AM
Ah thanks I was trying to rename it to a few things but hadn't tried HDR yet. Duh...

Dodgy
09-08-2011, 02:17 AM
Draft basically halves the number of refracted/reflected rays (I think) so try reducing your ray limit.

Philbert
09-08-2011, 02:20 AM
I think I'm actually pretty happy with it now. Rendering animation

3DGFXStudios
09-08-2011, 02:32 AM
you need to just set the ray recursion limit to 2 or something lower than 6. to get those black spots. But that's not how it should look. What you should do is set some absorption in the dielectric shader and keep the RRL between 6 and 20 or so.