PDA

View Full Version : Jog Shuttle: do these work?



svbell
10-12-2003, 07:35 AM
Any user feedbacks on these jogger devices? Do they work well with VT[3]??

http://www.dvdirect.com/shop/product.asp?sku=CTD5003
http://www.dvdirect.com/shop/product.asp?sku=CTD5001
http://www.dvdirect.com/shop/product.asp?sku=FCS5019

They seem to be user-programmable instead of pre-configured for specific applications. Let me know if it does worth the investment.

Thanks!!
-sv

Jim Capillo
10-12-2003, 07:41 AM
I have ShuttlePro V.2 (that link is showing the first version - make sure you get V.2 - http://www.contourdesign.com/shuttlepro/ ) and it works great. It is pretty easy to setup and works very accurately. :)

I also have Command Post and have never been able to get it to work at all. Stay away. :(

svbell
10-12-2003, 07:09 PM
http://www.contourdesign.com/shuttlepro/sp-apps.htm

A large selection of pre-configured softwares is listed, but no trace of anything Newtek. How easy is V2 to configure. Any possibility to save / export these settings, for later re-installs?

sv

ScorpioProd
10-12-2003, 08:26 PM
Thing is there was supposed to be native Newtek VT[3] support for the Contour Shuttle Pro, but I've never seen it materialize.

Some have written scripts and such, but I was hoping for a real Newtek designed set of drivers or scripts for it.

At NAB this year I talked with Contour people, and even the engineer that designed the actual controller. They told me they would love to create presets for VT[3], but Newtek had never talked with them about it!

Newtek likes doing things themselves...

bradl
10-12-2003, 09:38 PM
The word a while back was Aussie was working on it... what happened? As far as setting it up for VT3, there is a nice control panel where you can assign any button a keystroke or soon (maybe out already) a combination of keystrokes (macro like). I found the shuttle/jog response to be horrible and wrote some user scripts that worked better but still not great.

The shuttle guy told me a custom driver is what is needed to really make it shine with VT3. To be honest, I hardly use mine as I'm pretty keyboard intensive with VTEdit and forget or don't bother to reach over and use it...