PDA

View Full Version : Why is ObjectID in Lightwave?

studlybw
09-02-2011, 02:41 PM
Admittedly I'm no professional when it comes to LW, but I can fake my way around to get things done. Having said that, in all of my research of ObjectID buffers all I find is people saying that they don't actually work. That's my experience when outputting them in RLA and RPF formats and importing into AE.

Why does Newtek continue to package ObjectID buffers in LW when they obviously don't work. It seems like the ability to matte and work with individual objects is a pretty useful feature of a 3D program but, even in LW10, you still can't do it. :question:

Red_Oddity
09-02-2011, 03:01 PM
It's not LW, ObjectIDs work perfectly fine in Fusion, leave it to Adobe to frack simple implementations of standards up.

Lightwolf
09-02-2011, 04:44 PM
Well, for one they do starting with 10.1 - the last remaining problems creating them have been fixed (along the surface IDs).
However... the general concept of both ID buffers is flawed (and that's true for any implementation of the concept - be it 3D renderers or compositing applications).
It breaks down once a pixel contains colour information due to more than one surface or item (as is the case in border situations when rendering with AA).
Effectively they have no AA (and can't due to their nature).

Other than that though... they work just fine now.

Cheers,
Mike

Sensei
09-02-2011, 05:06 PM
It breaks down once a pixel contains colour information due to more than one surface or item (as is the case in border situations when rendering with AA).
Effectively they have no AA (and can't due to their nature).

That's why I am fan of rendering without AA and double/triple resolution, then rescaling to final resolution at the end.. ;)

Lightwolf
09-02-2011, 05:22 PM
That's why I am fan of rendering without AA and double/triple resolution, then rescaling to final resolution at the end.. ;)