PDA

View Full Version : Displcement color question



Philbert
08-30-2011, 02:22 PM
For a LW displacement map middle gray is "no change" right? For my character I have displacement but I made the mouth area 127, 127, 127 so as I understand it, it should look exactly the same with or without the displacement, but it doesn't.

http://content.screencast.com/users/philnolan3d/folders/Jing/media/966aaaf6-6b46-43e1-bff5-e0b67c4f1a02/2011-08-30_1612.png

I am using this displacement node set up that I found somewhere on the forum. Sorry to say I don't recall who made it.

http://content.screencast.com/users/philnolan3d/folders/Jing/media/bb336274-7267-402f-a974-47f80a9af9df/2011-08-30_1617.png

RebelHill
08-30-2011, 06:51 PM
no, for LW displacement black or zero (0) is no displacement (or no bump, no spec, no reflection, etc).

In ZB 50% grey is no displace, white is +1 displace and black is -1 displace... which is why you do the 0.5 subtraction to bring 50% grey down to the level of 0.

Philbert
08-30-2011, 06:54 PM
This would explain why I've always had such trouble with displacement. 3D-Coat can be exported either way (and with or without normalizing), I just always assumed it worked the same as bump maps (zero level is grey). Thanks I have to go completely start my displacement over now. lol

RebelHill
08-31-2011, 03:24 AM
You dont have to start it over, you could just use levels/curves in Pshop to remap the values in the image... or if you wanted absolute number precise control, you could map it to a plane in LW (as colour or lum channel), and send it through a gradient to perform the remapping.

You could also just not use it in displace node editor, but hook it to the displace input on the surface node, where it would behave like a bump.

Lightwolf
08-31-2011, 03:42 AM
You can also use the Remap node from the free db&w Tools (see my signature for the link).
Use the vector input/output for the colour.
This will at least replace the first two nodes with one:
Input min: 0.0, max: 1.0
Output min: -1.0, max: 1.0

Cheers,
Mike

Philbert
08-31-2011, 09:21 AM
Thanks, much to consider since my attempt at baking with "0 level is black" came out as solid grey for some reason.