PDA

View Full Version : Defered Compensation?

js33
10-11-2003, 04:48 PM
Hi all,

I'm a freelancer and do pretty well for my self but I know a guy that has his own production company that wants to create an animated short under a defered compensation agreement.

Basically this means I do all the animating and he's supposed to come up with the character/story idea.

He has a written agreement but I'm very hesitant to sign it.
But he claims he has contacts in LA. Well actually he does and I know who they are.

Has anyone ever done this and had it work out?

Cheers,
JS

wok
10-11-2003, 06:07 PM
Sounds interesting, but i'd found out a little more about it before you sign anything and make sure you know exactly what your signing!!!! You never know, you dont want to sign your life away!!!

kevman3d
10-11-2003, 06:19 PM
Its very Simple...

Just get a Lawyer/Solicitor to review the contract

Any legal contract should be reviewed by a Lawyer, specially if you are unsure about it. It protects you from making a mistake...

Not all Lawyers cost a Lot of money either, and if you can find a friend who works in a company with their own Lawyer, sometimes you can ask 'nicely' and get a few favors for a couple of beers after work one night! :)

A Lawyer will be able to tell you straight away if you are making a mistake, or you should do it.

Deferred compensation however does sound a little 'suspect'. That sounds like you could do a lot of work and never end up getting paid. I'd get a Lawyer or Solicitor to advise you...

Aegis
10-11-2003, 06:19 PM
READ EVERY LAST DAMN WORD ON THAT CONTRACT!

And if there's anything you don't understand show it to someone that does and can explain it to you...

I've seen defered compensation contracts before and most of 'em go something along the lines of: