PDA

View Full Version : LightWave for Animating

Chad711
08-27-2011, 11:51 AM
Obviously, I'm new to LightWave.
I see people talking about how they use LW to render or model and use other software like Messiah to animate, and people never really talk about animating(characters) in LW. Is LightWave not a good program for animating? I've also not seen many tutorials or videos of people animating in LW, and the ones that do only have very basic movements.

Is it just their preference to animate in another software? If you use or do not use LW to animate, why? And what do you use?

I personally prefer Zbrush for modeling.

Shabazzy
08-27-2011, 12:29 PM
It's an interesting question you pose Chad.

In my opinion, Lightwave has some excellent animation tools. For 3D animations, I use LightWave exclusively, but there are many different types of animation.

There's character animation, and within that there's a number of different styles and techniques (i.e bi-pedal, quadraped, facial etc). There's motion graphics, there's animation with expressions (mathematics), texture animation, animating lights and cameras, particle animations, there's just a whole stack of them, the list seems endless.

Fortunately Lightwave seems to handle all (or at the very least most) of them, but it takes time and patience to understand how to do the type of animation you require in the LightWave way.

Many of the guys here work within a studio facility and have to adopt different tools to achieve their goals and after a while you get used to doing things with one particular tool. It's a pain to have to switch your methodology to accommodate another so you get a little frustrated and stick to what you know.

Unfortunately some then go on to say things like LightWave's animation tools suck because it doesn't have x, y or z feature. And although there may be some truth to it, most times it's because the user was too lazy to achieve their goal the LightWave way.