PDA

View Full Version : A little help for a newbie

isbenz
08-25-2011, 03:58 AM
Hi! As I wrote in the title, i'm a complete newbie on the TriCaster tecnology.

On Sunday I'll be part of a team producing a live event. Since our position is not active yet, because there's no eletric power in the rooms now, i'm working on after effect for some animated graphics (especially lower thirds) and i'm asking for some adivces on how i can import this elements made by me into the title software.

The lower third is an animated motion graphic of about 12 seconds, and we'll be working in 4:3 PAL (my composition is already in this format with an alpha channel).

Thank you for any advice and help you can throw into the topic!

pro---studio
08-25-2011, 04:38 AM
First the downside:

You cannot use animated grphics inside the titler of any Tricaster. All Titles are static.

BUT

You can compose the entire L3rd (including the typo) inside After Effects and render it with an alphachannel (f.e. with the Newtek SpeedHQ codec). Then you could import this videoclip into a DDR and assign the DDR to the DSK inside your Tricaster. Then your L3rd will be keyed over your Program out everytime you activate your DSK. If you switch on autoplay inside the DDR it will even start animating when you hit the Take button of the DSK.

You didn't write which model of the TC family you'll be using. If it is a TCXD850 you will even have a second DSK. With that you could use an animated L3rd background on DSK1 and a Title designed inside the TC on DSK2. And if you TD is a good one he could blend those two layers perfect together.

Regards

pro.

isbenz
08-25-2011, 05:04 AM
I still don't know the model! :)

If i'm right, your suggestion is to use the lower third as a videoclip with a keyed background. I can do that with a alpha-supporting video codec and load any lower third into a ddr. Then load the clip and i will have it added to my program.