PDA

View Full Version : Rigging Training.. stuff..

hevjudo
08-17-2011, 11:56 PM
Just wanted to comment on the training that I have come across so far..

Now Im new to lightwave and have dabbled in Messiah but found the training for messiah more suited to users who have a complete grasp of the mechanics of rigging..

Training 1 - Johnny Gorden Rigging and Animation - absolutely awesome series which really needs to be worked through step by step. Was created on lightwave 8 but the principles have really got me thinking about rigging in general.

Best thing ever was having Johnny actuually respond to an email from me and take the time out to review some issues I was having in the training..

Training 2 - Lino Grandi's latest DVD - Really found the set up part to be very helpful and my rigging work space is more based on his set up.. General workflow is helpful but somethings like zeroing bone coordinates and changing coordinate systems brushed over.. Still.. an awesome series. Loved the simplicity of the presentation and the fact that the model is not your standard biped..

Training 3 - Rebel Hill RHR - Only recently started on this but blown away by his rigs and the depth of his rigging system.. Couldnt believe that even his intro movie (where he tries to the logic, or thought process to apply to rigging) set off some mini explosions in my brain and had me playing with rigs, nulls and parenting.. just to see what happens!

I plan on having a lightwave / messiah workflow (only because I have messiah and havent given it a chance yet.. (and my wife will kill me for wasting money).. but.. Im finding that the training available for rigging in lightwave (not necessarily animating) has far more depth than I have experienced in other software (limited as it is.. blender and messiah).

Anyway

Id be interested to here what people have experienced in learning rigging, what helped, what wasted time.. and what got you animating well.

daforum
08-18-2011, 04:59 AM