PDA

View Full Version : Dynamics Query

daz1761
08-10-2011, 02:36 PM
I am quite new to dynamics and have done a few basic tutorials and everything seems ok, after lots of tweeking

I have done one today that i found on you tube with 4 balls swilling around like a roulette table, well more like a bird table lol

I found the first ball closest to the hole in the center went straight in then the other 3 were jigging a flickering about right on the edge of the rim so i had to abort the calculations

I then widened the geometry of the hole in the center where they are supposed to fall through and then I put the "Resistance" to 2.0 and changed the Z axis Force to 4m instead of 20m and over 82 frames all the balls went in quicker.

Then I changed the geometry of the hole in the center back to a smaller size to suit the 4 balls and recalculated and they all went in as planned

As i am new to dynamics I was wondering if it was just the Resistance that sorted it or the resistance and geometry change mentioned earlier and I was also wondering what Resistance actually meant?

I have the Latest LW10 book and the author explains what most of the settings are for the collision side but not many of the HardFX side

I have attached both the modeler and layout docs just to see if I have done things correct

Any help will be much appreciated :)

Celshader
08-10-2011, 06:45 PM
As i am new to dynamics I was wondering if it was just the Resistance that sorted it or the resistance and geometry change mentioned earlier and I was also wondering what Resistance actually meant?

Resistance means air resistance. Higher values oppose the pieces' movement through world-coordinate space and make them more easily pushed around by Wind effectors.