PDA

View Full Version : Random Points Tool - Control is Disabled?



daz1761
08-08-2011, 03:19 PM
Hello

Im trying to follow a simple tutorial that gets you to model a bunch of grapes, after creating a sphere object the tutorial gets you to select the "Random Points" tool from the "Create" tab but every time I try and edit or use the tool it hits back with a "Control is Disabled" message

Is there anything I am doing wrong? I have also enabled "Simple Wireframe Points" from the "Display" menu also

Many thanks

P.s using LW10

Sensei
08-08-2011, 08:21 PM
When I ran LW v10.1 Modeler to check your problem, I completely didn't have Random Points tool in Create. But I looked at LW v9.6 how it's organized, and it's in Prims.p file. I added it. And made new button in Edit Menu Layout.. Here Random Points tool is never going to disabled state, no matter whether some geometry is selected or not..

daz1761
08-09-2011, 10:21 AM
Thanks for having a look :)

The strangest thing happened today as I rebooted modeler and tried starting the tutorial from fresh, the first thing i tried was the "Random Points" Tool and it was active??

Maybe it was a little bug

P.s How do I upgrade to 10.1? I only registered the software about 2 months ago, is there a charge?

Thanks

Sensei
08-09-2011, 10:27 AM
I downloaded LW v10.1 from here IIRC
http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=121029

daz1761
08-09-2011, 04:01 PM
Thanks again :)

For some reason the random points got back up to its old tricks but again i think maybe its because i have had various scenes and objects opened through out the day, as soon as i quit everything and started again it was fine :devil:

lino.grandi
08-10-2011, 04:34 AM
Go using 10.1! You'll never get back to 10! ;)

daz1761
08-10-2011, 04:54 AM
Go using 10.1! You'll never get back to 10! ;)

I think I will, i'm just a bit reluctant about upgrading because I am currently learning Lightwave1 10 with a Inside Book by Dan Ablan and I am worried that tools that are mentioned maybe have been moved in 10.1

Sensei
08-10-2011, 05:37 AM
You can keep them both installed. So you will be able to check, if something is different (which I doubt ;) )

daz1761
08-10-2011, 05:47 AM
You can keep them both installed. So you will be able to check, if something is different (which I doubt ;) )

Excellent :) If that's the case I will update, thanks again ;)

Sensei
08-10-2011, 05:49 AM
When installing something older than LW v10.0, such as LW v9.6, remember to use -c parameter in short-cut, and never run application without short-cut. It's redirecting config folder, so they don't interfere. Since v10.0 it's done automatically.

daz1761
08-10-2011, 02:07 PM
Thanks again :) just hope the random points tool is a bit more stable