PDA

View Full Version : stream profile needed



Monderoy
08-04-2011, 08:54 AM
Hi guys,

We been doing some broadcasts with the Tricaster Broadcast and Panasonic AG-DVX 100A cameras, but we just can't get that SHARP picture we would want to have no matter how we modify the stream profiles.

The pictures are quite soft and lack sharpness in the video stream.

Can someone recommend or provide a stream profile which would enable to do high quality SD Broadcasts?

Thanks.

Martin K
08-04-2011, 09:24 AM
Theres a description in the Tricaster User Guide on Page 232 which will teach you how to do it.You will find the manual here:
Tricaster User Guide (http://www.newtek.com/tricaster/manuals/NewTek%20TriCaster%20User%20Guide.pdf)

It describes it for both Streaming formats, WMF and Flash

Monderoy
08-04-2011, 09:40 AM
Thanks Martin

csandy
08-05-2011, 07:44 AM
Hi guys,

We been doing some broadcasts with the Tricaster Broadcast and Panasonic AG-DVX 100A cameras, but we just can't get that SHARP picture we would want to have no matter how we modify the stream profiles.

The pictures are quite soft and lack sharpness in the video stream.

Can someone recommend or provide a stream profile which would enable to do high quality SD Broadcasts?

Thanks.

1. Use H.264
2. Watch your CPU usage
3. Better to happy a fuzzy stream than no stream at all (crash)
4. See #2.
5. Use an external encoder if your CPU can't handle it
6. Use a hardware based external encoder if you can afford it
7. Use VT5 if you have one around - you can get the best SD stream quality out of it (surprise!) over any SD Tricaster

stijef
08-08-2011, 06:58 AM
Working for a while on the same problem as you do Monderoy, so any additional info, anyone's experience will be useful... thank you in advance on that!



2. Watch your CPU usage


How to do that running Tricaster Studio software? And well known question - is there shortcuts from TC software to Windows desktop or particular Windows services?



5. Use an external encoder if your CPU can't handle it
6. Use a hardware based external encoder if you can afford it


Sandy exactly which devices you would recommend, over the integrated Tricaster's Studio encoder? Having in mind that is just SD level of the production...

csandy
08-08-2011, 07:20 AM
Go to administration mode. Once at the active desktop, hold the shift key while pressing the launch TriCaster button.

There are many external encoders by Kulabyte, Digital Rapids, Viewcast, etc. Find one within your budget, test drive it if possible, and make a decision.

You can also use another TriCaster or VT as an outboard encoder.

The discussion of SD/HD streams really has little relevance. Decide what bit rate you can afford then determine the resolution that fits your display medium the best.