PDA

View Full Version : LW Modeler EPS Import



jeremy092288
10-09-2003, 02:17 PM
When I try to import an EPS image to extrude and make 3D I see no pull out from the import menu.

Is there some kind of plug in I am missing?

webshot
10-09-2003, 08:01 PM
In modeler. Go to modeler>>Plugins>>Add Plugin The plugin should be located in your plugins folder with the lightwave folder.

I believe this is the name of it EPSF.p

jeremy092288
10-10-2003, 11:50 AM
Already Did That......

Is there someone out there who wants to e-mail me ([email protected]) the .p file?

I know I should have it. I got Lightwave with VT[3] If that makes a difference

mlinde
10-10-2003, 12:51 PM
Are you saying you don't have EPSF.p in your plugins, or are you saying you can't make it work via import?

I can't send you EPSF.p (I'm on a Mac). However, you should have it. If you do, you probably need to find it in the "additional" list under Construct -> Utility -> Additional. It's listed by command as EPSF Loader, not importer.

jeremy092288
10-10-2003, 04:48 PM
Well now i have ofund the file and I go to my Add Plugin and click on the .p file then click done.

Nothing happens... I do not see it in the File -> Import

bloontz
10-10-2003, 05:34 PM
Look under Construct -> Utility -> Additional, as mlinde said. It should be in that list. When you add pligins you need to assign them to a menu under Modeler -> Interface -> Edit Menu Layout if you want them elsewhere.

jeremy092288
10-11-2003, 10:59 PM
Ok now I got it!!!

But of course the file won't import.... :(

So........

I have Macromedia Freehand.

Does anyone know of a function inside freehand that does make it valid.

Some people have said Adobe Illistrator can do it except I don't have that.

I figured since FreeHand is their competitor it could do it also.

Thanks you guys This newsgroup has been the most helpful tool in my NewTek career!

richpr
10-11-2003, 11:16 PM
Can it save as Illustrator 6? ai/eps files...

jeremy092288
10-11-2003, 11:31 PM
Sure Can!

*.ai Right?

IF it is AI then yes

richpr
10-11-2003, 11:35 PM
.ai around version 6 works fine

richpr
10-11-2003, 11:41 PM
Here is an example ai file from another thread here, for comparison... See what Freehand does and try to get it like this file... It has some flipped polygons, but imports just fine...

jeremy092288
10-11-2003, 11:58 PM
I feel really stupid right now, but I don't understand your instructions.:confused:

richpr
10-12-2003, 12:00 AM
In Freehand save as Adobe Illustrator AI file... If it allows you to specify a version, use version 6 of AI, since this works nicely with EPSF loader... (Newer version of Illustrator AI files will not always load in LW).

Then try to import it in Modeler...

Hope that helps...

(the zip is there only for comparison. See if freehand loads it without problems. LW has no issue with that ai file).

bloontz
10-12-2003, 10:07 AM
You should be able to use the "Export" command to save as a variety of illustrator versions.

jeremy092288
10-12-2003, 10:14 AM
I have imported the BMP image into freehand and Exported it as an EPS and an AI and neither work

bloontz
10-12-2003, 10:37 AM
BMP is a bitmap format, you need to use a vector graphic to import into lightwave. If you don't know what that means read the relevant sections of the freehand manual. Basically vector graphics consist of mathematically defined paths (bezier curves).

webshot
10-13-2003, 02:07 AM
you will need to have your bitmap changed to a vector format. An easy way to do this is to use freehands trace bitmap command. You will have to play with the setting to get your desired outcome. But mind you, you will have to to do some path manipulation like adding, cutting.....Look up up those in the freehand help files. But u have to hae an actual vector file to use it in LW. good luck