PDA

View Full Version : I'm looking for a way to blend/replace MDDs?



wesball
07-28-2011, 04:06 AM
I've got several MDD animation clips.

In my instance, it's a guy riding a bike. I've got one clip that has him riding in a loop. One that has him looking back. One that has him leaning.

What I'm wanting to do is let the generic ride mdd just loop forever, except at key points when I want to blend in the lean mdd.

I'm assuming I can do this with nodes?

What would the setup be to allow me to transition to particular MDDs at given frames?

Would really love any help here.

Dodgy
07-28-2011, 05:51 AM
Easiest way is to use a Mixer node with both mdds going into it, then keyframing the Opacity control of the mixer. If you have more than 2 mdds, you could use a gradient with an mdd for each of the input colours.

wesball
07-28-2011, 06:25 AM
Ahh. The mixer node seems to work well. Keying the opacity dissolves the FG color. That works great.

I'm not sure I understand the gradient method you mention for more than 2 mdds?

UnCommonGrafx
07-28-2011, 07:06 AM
Put in a gradient node.
Give it two keys/color.
Select "show input". (He says from memory)

You should now have extra inputs based on those two colors. As well as outputs.

Use that in place of the mixer. It only gets interesting from there.

wesball
07-28-2011, 07:28 AM
I think I understand. I'll give it a whirl.

Cheers!

wesball
07-28-2011, 07:58 AM
Well, not having much luck with the gradient. Unless I'm doing something wrong.

Attaching a screengrab.

I found I needed to make the gradient 'incidence' for the displacement to work.

I can't seem to get the different MDDs to dissolve on/off. It only shows the MDD from the Key(1).

Any thoughts?

Dodgy
07-28-2011, 03:18 PM
Stick a Constant scalar into the Input input of the gradient and key that to control the gradient.