PDA

View Full Version : Rotate a globe at an angle?



Sean Martin
07-20-2011, 11:27 AM
Hi All,

I having problems trying to rotate a globe around a certain axis.

I know how to rotate a globe 360 around the heading when heading, pitch and bank are all at zero.

But my globes starting frame has HPB all at different angles and i'm looking to constrain the rotation to the heading whilst the globe is tilted at a certain angle. I know its probably really simple to solve but I'm not getting the results I want. Not sure I'm grasping Lightwaves coordinate system.

Any help would be mucho appreciated, have a look at my screen shot and hopefully that will help explain further.:help:

COBRASoft
07-20-2011, 11:36 AM
Set coordinates to local instead of parent or world, this should do it :).

nickdigital
07-20-2011, 11:43 AM
The other option would be to parent your globe to a null, rotate that to get the right local angle...and then you can rotate just the globe itself in Heading.

Sean Martin
07-20-2011, 11:43 AM
COBRAsoft: I'm pretty sure I've tried that and it still don't work. I'm going to give it another ago tonight. thanks

Nickdigital: I'll try that to, thanks

Sean Martin
07-20-2011, 12:59 PM
That worked. been tearing my hair out over such a simple solution.
The trick here was to switch back to parent coords after adjusting angles in local.

thanks a bunch guys, much appreciated:thumbsup: