PDA

View Full Version : Making displacement into actual geometry?



Dreamcube017
06-29-2011, 07:58 AM
Hey guys, I'm wondering if it's possible to bake displacement into the actual geometry. I know I can see it in Layout, but can I just bake the displacement into the actual mesh and export it out?

Thanks.

Oh, also, I was looking at the material nodes and was wondering why it has a displacement section right in the material itself when that's not really where you apply it?

Oh... one more things (Sorry)

Does anyone remember that node plugin that gives you all those extra material nodes?... It was called something like LWF or... something. Can't remember what though... I know if was used in a bunch of stuff including Max Steel... yeah I know that's not much help, but still, if anyone knows, I might grab it 'cause it looks like it could be useful.

Celshader
06-29-2011, 08:35 AM
Hey guys, I'm wondering if it's possible to bake displacement into the actual geometry. I know I can see it in Layout, but can I just bake the displacement into the actual mesh and export it out?

Thanks.

Oh, also, I was looking at the material nodes and was wondering why it has a displacement section right in the material itself when that's not really where you apply it?

Oh... one more things (Sorry)

Does anyone remember that node plugin that gives you all those extra material nodes?... It was called something like LWF or... something. Can't remember what though... I know if was used in a bunch of stuff including Max Steel... yeah I know that's not much help, but still, if anyone knows, I might grab it 'cause it looks like it could be useful.

To bake the displacement (and translation/rotation/scale) into an object, use "Save Transformed" in Layout. This command should be placed next to "Save" in Layout. Do not overwrite the original object. Also consider baking non-UV-mapped textures onto the object with the Surface Baker camera before using Save Transformed.

Tip: for subpatch models, if your subpatch level is set to 1 or higher, Save Transformed will freeze the output at whatever level the Display Subpatch Level. If the SubD Level is set to 0, however, Save Transformed will save out a subpatch object.

-+-

To answer the question about Material nodes, I'm guessing this is so that you can have multiple Materials on one surface with different Bump/Normal information for each one. If you want all Materials to use the same Bump/Normal information, pipe the Bump/Normal information into the Surface Node. On the other hand, if you want an instance of Conductor to act like it's applied to a grid, while another instance of Dielectric acts like it's applied to a crust, pipe a Grid texture into Conductor's Bump channel and a Crust texture into Dielectric's Bump channel.

-+-

We didn't have nodes back in the Max Steel days, but I know exactly what you're talking about...the IFW textures (http://www.shaders.co.uk/)!!! Those things are amazing. IFW is up to version 2 right now, and it comes in two flavors: procedural textures for old-fashioned texture layers, and spiffy new Nodes for the Node Editor.

The entire IFW2 line is on sale right now for $69 (http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=98937), so now's a good time to pick them up if you need them.

evenflcw
06-29-2011, 08:36 AM
Use Save Transformed from the File menu. Before that, set the object to Display SubD Level 0 if you're wokring with a subpatch object.

Displacements can be applied via surfaces if you activate that feature (in the obj prop panel someplace). It's there because so many requested it.

http://www.ifw2.com/ ?

PS. Too slow. What she said!

Dreamcube017
06-29-2011, 12:44 PM
thanks a lot guys.

Oh and this is what I meant by Max Steel.

http://www.shaders.co.uk/ifw2_textures/

Dreamcube017
06-29-2011, 11:14 PM
Use Save Transformed from the File menu. Before that, set the object to Display SubD Level 0 if you're wokring with a subpatch object.

Displacements can be applied via surfaces if you activate that feature (in the obj prop panel someplace). It's there because so many requested it.

http://www.ifw2.com/ ?

PS. Too slow. What she said!

Do you know where to activate it in the object properties? I have a nice node setup in materials and don't really wanna make it over in the Displacement nodes. Thanks.

Cohen
06-29-2011, 11:43 PM
Do you know where to activate it in the object properties?

Toggle "Enable Bump." Once you do that the Distance field will no longer be ghosted, allowing you to specify the hieght of your displacement effect.


I have a nice node setup in materials and don't really wanna make it over in the Displacement nodes. Thanks.

You can always make a selection of nodes that you wish to copy in the surface-node editor, hit 'ctrl + c', open displacement-node editor and 'ctrl + v' for paste.

Cohen
06-29-2011, 11:49 PM
By the way, the purpose of the displacement effect in the material nodes is to emulate a micro-polygon bump effect. It is not really intended to do large amplitude displacements.

For that, you should use the displacement node (Sometimes in conjunction with geometry normals from the spot info node). But you may already know this. I'm just stating it just in case. :)

funk
06-30-2011, 02:42 AM
We didn't have nodes back in the Max Steel days, but I know exactly what you're talking about...the IFW textures (http://www.shaders.co.uk/)!!! Those things are amazing. IFW is up to version 2 right now, and it comes in two flavors: procedural textures for old-fashioned texture layers, and spiffy new Nodes for the Node Editor.

The entire IFW2 line is on sale right now for $69 (http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=98937), so now's a good time to pick them up if you need them.

Actually he has a special in the forums right now for $49
http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=120411

Dreamcube017
06-30-2011, 07:26 AM
Toggle "Enable Bump." Once you do that the Distance field will no longer be ghosted, allowing you to specify the hieght of your displacement effect.



You can always make a selection of nodes that you wish to copy in the surface-node editor, hit 'ctrl + c', open displacement-node editor and 'ctrl + v' for paste.

The micro displacement is what I was looking for actually. I just wanted to add some nice detail and not dromatically change the shape. Thanks I'll give that a shot.


Actually he has a special in the forums right now for $49
http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=120411

Holy hams. I wasn't sure if I was gonna get it, but for the discount, I'll go ahead and grab it... hope "limited time" includes this evening because I can't get it while I'm at work... well I probably could but I don't think that'd be a very good idea.

Only thing I noticed is that some of the things can't be seen until render time which makes it a LITTLE hard to figure out how they're going to look... Can VIPER help with this?