PDA

View Full Version : lw8 request

ali
10-07-2003, 02:00 PM
I have been using LW for six years. I prepare architectural presentations. I also use Autodesk VIZ, but I have always found LW more user friendly and working with it enjoyable.
I always prefer to work with LW, but only in small projects. In bigger projects, I have to work with VIZ. Here I'd like to declare some suggestions that will bring LW to top in architectural visualisation.
-Better dwg, dxf and 3ds import and export.
-Instances / Blocks. (Think of a skyscraper including hundreds of windows of same type. You modeled it and the client wanted bigger windows. The only choice is to change every window one by one.(In some cases like that i prefer to define each construction element as a different object and combine all elements in Layout, but of course it would be very nice to be able to have an option in Modeler).
-Xrefs (External References) Think that you can insert/merge many object files in your main object file and if you make a change in an inserted object file, the changes will also be seen in your main object file.
-Better boolean tools.
-Rendering engine is the best in a package i have seen, but it must be developed also.
-Integrated LW. Then it would be possible to work faster I think.
-Array lights. Again, think of a skyscraper having hundreds of lights in a grid mode and you have to move and place them one by one in LW.
-Rail clone lights and some other cloning commands that can be used in multiplying lights would be helpful in some specific big projects.
-All modelling tools should be real time adjustable. I would like to model all objects like the ease of modelling a box. Many users would like to have a modelling history, but it isn't a must i think, in many cases, it only enlarges the file sizes.