PDA

View Full Version : Questions regarding luminous polys in Interiors!

prometheus
06-17-2011, 08:12 AM
Hi there!

Im a Newbie on interiors really, Im in a process of populating a gym room with machines, and I have some questions about luminous polys.

In the attached images I have one area light acting as sunlight (credit and thanks to those who posted the interior animated setup on this forum)
I just changed the room a little...and switched to srgb color space.

two luminous simple flat polys as ceiling lights.
The first image has a 100 % luminous setting and 500 diffuse.
the second image has 3000 % luminous setting and 500 diffuse.

Now what value would you recommend for luminous polys?

If I use the higher value, that would also give blotches, so I wonder if it would help or do anything to improve if I should subdivide the polys?

I guess I need to lower the minimum pixel spacing too.

I will encase light polys in to a frame later on, and I believe I should make the polys double sided to get a nice glow spread in to that frame?

Any suggestions?

the color space is set to srgb, see GI settings and color space settings, the test image resolution is 640x480.

I will work on filling the room with more stuff later on.

Michael

dee
06-17-2011, 10:45 AM
Your CS settings are not correct, set it like so:

http://www.newtek.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=95969&stc=1&d=1308328984

You don't need diffuse on the lumi polys, set everything to zero except luminosity.

prometheus
06-17-2011, 11:43 AM

http://www.newtek.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=95969&stc=1&d=1308328984

You don't need diffuse on the lumi polys, set everything to zero except luminosity.

Ill go through the CS settings again later..and I guess I knew that diffuse isnīt needed, donīt know where the heck I got that from?

However the question and issue I would like to get a grip on is how much luminosity would be proper to use?