PDA

View Full Version : Architectural Fly Throughs

GM_Anim
06-14-2011, 01:12 PM
Good afternoon folks,

I have been a LW user off and on for a several years, but I have never had the pleasure of doing an architectural walk/fly through. Well, I may finally have my chance. I have many questions however, please keep in mind that I am a newbie in this area, but I will try to keep them to a minimum.

First of all, my client is seeking a photo-real rendering of three animated fly-throughs consisting of two external views, and one internal view. The project is a building with a lot of glass on a street corner, and would need to have cars, people, and foliage (shrubs, flowers, and trees). The source files would be coming from Autodesk's Revit software. In order to complete this project I will be upgrading to LW10.

1. What is the best way to get models from Revit into LW?
2. Would the resulting import require any additional modelling and/or texturing?
3. Are there any good libraries for people, cars, items, foliage, textures, and other related items?
4. Any recommendations for lighting and/or rendering such a scene?
5. How many hours would you estimate that such a project would entail?
6. Any suggestions on how to price something like this?

I would appreciate any and all suggestions and advice. Thank you in advance for your time.

Glen

Ryste3d
06-14-2011, 01:48 PM
Buy a book. just kidding. But that was a lot of questions:D

GM_Anim
06-14-2011, 01:57 PM
Thanks. :)

I'm not opposed to that actually, know of any good books on the subject?

As is often the case though, my client needs me to get back to him ASAP ... and ASAP is a lot shorter time frame than the length of time it would take me to read a book unfortunately. :)

BTW, that is some great stuff on your site. ;)

Nicolas Jordan
06-14-2011, 02:19 PM
1. What is the best way to get models from Revit into LW?
2. Would the resulting import require any additional modelling and/or texturing?