PDA

View Full Version : Connection to AE



kolinize
06-09-2011, 06:32 PM
I know this has been discussed in some depth here before but I am trying to once again bring this issue up as I am getting ready to move to a new app due to this deficiency.

Specifically: are the developers working on a simple solution to translate camera and object data to and from After Effects? Cinema has become the defacto ruler of the motion graphics world because they have a fairly elegant solution to this (I know of at least 4 former LW users who made the switch because of this issue). I have played with and even purchased some third party solutions for this and while it occasionally works well, its often a punishment drill to get it all working. I'm no expert on what is involved, but this seems like a simple feature to add that would be a big draw. I know AEs 3d is lame, but if a simple third party plug can make it work (most of the time anyways), what is the big deal??

digitaldoc
06-09-2011, 06:46 PM
:thumbsup: :agree:

Right on.

This is a great place for Lightwave to become indispensable in the Motion Graphics world.

There's money in them thar conversions!

Listen LW developers.....it's not like there are not similar requests posted here over the last decade.

bsales
06-10-2011, 01:28 AM
To get from LW to AE, I've used these utilities:
http://www.ats-3d.com/#TransMotion%20Utilities%20%20Pack

Here's a direct link to a script that exports from AE to LW and a few others:
http://www.urbanspaceman.net/shared/AEscripts/AE2LW/AE_CameraToLW.jsx

Not 100% graceful solutions, but hope that helps

raw-m
06-10-2011, 07:11 AM
Hadn't seen that second AE script before - can you get it to work in CS5? I get a script error on line 197 on the mac.

I'm afraid I'm inclined to agree. I get the impression us mograph types are considered small fry next to the big feature film/VFX people. It's a big shame as I enjoy using LW and it has so much to offer - I feel the need to explain myself whenever I'm asked what 3D package I use!

EDIT: OK to get it to work, open in a text editor, search for "filePutDialog" (line 197) and replace it with "File.saveDialog" and it works quite nicely!

PPS. I think the AE3D_Export script is better as you can export objects as well. Point still stands, though. A native solution in LW would be much more preferable to get stuff into AE (and perhaps NT can build a tool that could convert AE comps to scenes..... dream away....)

daforum
06-10-2011, 08:05 AM
This script exports items from LightWave to AFX very well.

http://mentalfish.wordpress.com/2009/08/08/lw-2-ae/

There's even a tutorial on this blog page too.
Hope this helps :)

OnlineRender
06-10-2011, 11:42 AM
http://vimeo.com/mentalfish/

http://mentalfish.com/

djwaterman
06-12-2011, 12:11 PM
That mental fish one looked good but I couldn't get it to work, I'm using AECS5 on a PC.
But seriously, Lightwave just cuts itself out of the pipeline all the time, it should be jumping through hoops to prove itself invaluable in other workflows, AE is just one of them. CG production has been around long enough for Newtek to have worked out what is generally needed, it should be working on seamless integration with all the main software out there. LW can seem incredibly plugin dependent at times, if they aren't feverishly working away at this then I'm not sure they are going to survive. I've noticed ever slower activity on the different LW forums and you can read that as a sign of a shrinking user base.

kolinize
06-14-2011, 01:52 PM
Thanks for posting, but I have had limited luck with those solutions. I own Transmotion and was able to get it working on one project with a lot of tech support. Tried it again recently and couldn't get it working again. Also tried the mentalfish one, and while the camera motion seems to be there i could not get objects to match. Cinema is so much simpler in this regard.

motivalex
06-19-2011, 09:26 AM
Hey kolinize. Check this thread out as new plugin being developed.

http://newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=120112

I also had success with the ats plugins, with a scene using lots of camera motion and nulls to position AE text etc perfectly to objects in LW.

What problems were you having?

jeric_synergy
06-20-2011, 12:30 PM
What problems were you having?
I'm sure Al Street would also appreciate your feedback: he's a very helpful guy.