PDA

View Full Version : Parent objects with based on selection?



Simon-S
06-01-2011, 03:51 AM
Hi All,

I'm finding it increasingly frustrating that when I want to parent something I have to either go into the scene editor, or motion options panel any scroll through lists of objects until I find the one I want. Really annoying when you have a scene with a lot of objects.

Is there a way of parenting based on selection order in the perspective view, the same as in maya/blender etc etc etc.??

Or maybe there's a plugin that could help?

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Simon

rikka+
06-01-2011, 03:56 AM
You can do it in the schematic viewport using ctrl :)

Simon-S
06-01-2011, 04:00 AM
Awesome thanks...I wish I new that 6 months ago.

evenflcw
06-01-2011, 04:35 AM
The selection method wont work well in LW, because you cannot select two items of different type. So you wouln't be able to parent lights to null using that method. Which is a major flaw in LWs interaction design. So even though parent to last selected could be easily scripted it would be so limited in functionality it's hardly worth the effort to write it and hotkey it.