PDA

View Full Version : text made in eps - imported - hmm



jimwww
05-20-2011, 11:08 PM
Hi All
Just a quick question. I have imported a text I made in CS3 and exported as eps into LW - because LW cannot deal with the font 'Cracked" and so I have it into modeller but in preview I see a rectangle poly but in the other windows I can see the text. I need to obviously get it into text in LW modeller - not the rectangle. THe pic will show what's happening. (text is a new domain I bought for myself-nothing is up yet)

I don't deal in text much. THanks in advance for advice. :)
(prob step I am missing)

http://www.jimwww.com/LW/dv8.jpg

steve0077
05-20-2011, 11:43 PM
If the text is a polygon select polygons and cut and paste to new layer.

cg_mike
05-20-2011, 11:58 PM
Hi jimwww,

I just tried a busted up font here from Illustrator CS3 to EPS and into Modeler. It looked basically like what you have here. I just selected the 4-point poly outside the text and deleted it. So here you go...

If you want to see the text in your upper right viewpoint, you just need to change it to display one of the wireframe modes. In the upper left corner of that viewport, there's a pulldown next to where it says "Perspective". Choose "Textured Wire", "Wireframe Shade", or any of the other options with "Wireframe" in the title and you should be able to see the letters.

To select the offending polygon, you can click and drag across the edge of it (the edge above the "ca" letters is a nice easy target in the bottom left viewport). As you run over the edge, the poly should select and then just hit the delete key on your keyboard.

Alternately, you can highlight that poly right in the perspective view by clicking on part of it inside the rectangle, but outside the lettering -- and then delete it.

Then you should just have the polys for your text. :) Good luck!

jimwww
05-21-2011, 01:14 AM
Excellent - thanks!

Got it working, will add scene, more texture later. thanks (been a while since I used it)

http://www.jimwww.com/LW/dv8boolean.jpg

chco2
05-21-2011, 03:55 AM
Here's a video I made of importing a logo from AI into modeler. Covers most of the general stuff you need to take notice off. Perhaps it helps..
http://2lk.nl/2k7

jimwww
05-21-2011, 09:42 AM
Thank you so much. Can I post your link above on the LW users group on FB? (asking permission)
Normally I would do it by just adding text - but when it is not a TT font Lw has a crap when trying to put it into modeler. "cracked' won't work in LW.
If anyone wants the font - PM me.

chco2
05-21-2011, 12:10 PM
Sure go ahead.
And if any question pops up, just let me know. Guess I must have converted around 50-60 logo's by now, so hopefully I can answer a question if there's one.

Ciao,
Charly