PDA

View Full Version : Vegetation spray in Photoshop



Ryste3d
05-20-2011, 04:04 PM
Do anyone know of a program where you can spray grass, plants, trees and so on on an image. Maybe a 3d plug-in for Photoshop?

Gumby22don
05-23-2011, 03:25 PM
Heya,

I'm not 100% sure on what you're after, but e-on software have Vue, and some other programs that do this sort of thing in a 3D scene: see http://www.e-onsoftware.com

There's a plugin setup (x-stream) with lightwave which I've used successfully in the past for architectural scenes with bushes and trees. (The skies are also nice)

The other program I've seen this sort of behaviour in was Maya, but that I've never used myself. I assume they still have their personal learning edition, although it may not include that painting feature IIRC...

Don
have a great day

Netvudu
05-23-2011, 05:18 PM
If you look for 3D vegetation instead of painting over an image you can do that inside Lightwave

http://svenart.de/sumatra_about.htm

Greenlaw
05-23-2011, 06:50 PM
Corel Painter has its Image Hose, which is a brush tool that sprays a matrix of images with or without mattes. The sequence can be manipulated in a variety of ways, like scale by pressure, change hue by stylus angle, etc. It's pretty awesome for quickly painting trees and vegetation in a matte painting.

I'm almost certain there's a similar feature in Photoshop but never really explored it because I'm so used to doing this sort of thing in Painter.

SubDProxy
05-23-2011, 06:53 PM
There is also Veggie Paint from Walen. http://walen.se/veggipaint/index.html

Greenlaw
05-23-2011, 06:57 PM
Come to think of it, ArtRage Studio Pro has a similar tool called Sticker Spray. I've only played with this tool a little bit but I thought it had potential. Think I'll take another look at it tonight.

Greenlaw
05-23-2011, 07:02 PM
As for Photoshop, maybe not. Google turned up this recent blog entry on the subject:

Photoshop: Image Hose - Extend Clone Stamp tool (http://feedback.photoshop.com/photoshop_family/topics/image_hose_extend_clone_stamp_tool)

G.

archijam
05-24-2011, 12:55 AM
The lw plugin Sumatra?

Netvudu
05-24-2011, 06:19 PM
*ahem* :)

archijam
05-25-2011, 03:19 AM
ah whoops ;)

Carm3D
05-30-2011, 03:23 AM
Other possible solutions:

Random Cloner (http://polas.net/plugins/cloner.php) (restrict with weight maps)

MeshPaint (http://www.evasion3d.com/mp_lw_intro.html)

HDInstance (http://www.happy-digital.com/instance.asp)

prometheus
05-31-2011, 11:02 AM
As mentioned before, dogwaffle is free and you can paint with particles, there are some presets for grass and a few more..

you can also extract out an alpha wich is created automaticly for you using the plugin execute store alpha, just press get buffer...
or simply use the alpha menu

to use pd particles, go to window /optipustics, load different settings and paint..

Michael

prometheus
05-31-2011, 11:39 AM
forgot to mention..from dogwaffle saving out your painted grass bush, save it as tga32 wich automaticly has the alpha embedded, if you want to use that on polys with lightwave 10.1 and view directly in the vpr, that works just fine..just add the clip map on the poly´s properties/render/clip map panel.

Michael

3dworks
05-31-2011, 12:02 PM
have a look at this http://www.humansoftware.com/pages1200/Photospray/HSpsp11.html

markus

prometheus
05-31-2011, 12:40 PM
I just noticed that a saved image from dogwaffle as tga 32, works fine if you put it on a poly plate in the color channel, and use a clipmap with the same image.
But if I use it with sprites, it doesnt seem to recognize the embedded alpha channel.

Also in photoshop it has an alpha channel, but it is all white, I think Ivé stumbled on this before but can´t recall what it was?

image in attached zipfile, should work as color and clip map, but not on sprites.

Michael

rcallicotte
05-31-2011, 12:47 PM
This is a very nice place for 2D plants - http://www.gardenhose.com/

prometheus
05-31-2011, 12:59 PM
Dont we learn by trial and error, I was of course painting on white, so I tried to paint the dogwaffle grass on black..saved it as tga 32...
now if we use sprite clips, the embedded alpha wont do any good, so we set it to black wich was the canvas we painted on this time..
so now it works..just small adjustment in the threshold settings, maybe 10%.

Michael

arnechr
05-31-2011, 04:57 PM
Gg!!