PDA

View Full Version : Select point/geometry of newly created object

nickdigital
05-12-2011, 05:27 PM
I'm a noob at lscript but I'm trying to learn. I made a lscript that creates a box and runs spherize on it to make a quad box. The basics of it work fine. What I'd like to improve is that if someone runs it on a layer that already has geometry all their layer contents don't get spherized.

My thinking if that if I could select the points or polys of the newly created box and then run spherize I could isolate the operation.

I've found the selpoints and selpolys entries but I'm unclear on how to use it.

Can someone point me in the right direction?

Thx.

evenflcw
05-12-2011, 08:41 PM
Elements, points and polygons, have an id and could also be said to have an index. As new elements are created they are assigned a unique id and the id is inserted at the end of the points and polygons arrays (see meshedit mode). The index corresponds to the elements/ids position in these arrays. Ie, the arrays and indices are in creation order.

Selpolygon()/selpoint() can select using either id or index.

I think that should be enough to point you in the right direction.

nickdigital
05-13-2011, 08:49 AM
Great! Thanks for steering me in the right direction.

nickdigital
05-16-2011, 10:52 AM
So I've poured over the docs and I feel I'm close. I'm just missing the understanding of the proper syntax.

I have the below:

makebox(lowValue,highValue,segments);
meshedit ("Spherize");

I've done the tutorial where you make points and assign a variable with an array to the points:
point[1] = addpoint (1,1,1);

I assume the makebox command is returning a value. Is it returning points or polys? Or both?

I want to be able to select the geometry of the makebox command so when I run Spherize it just does it on the newly created geometry and not everything that's in the Layer in Modeler.

evenflcw
05-16-2011, 02:31 PM