PDA

View Full Version : How much Ram do you have?

Tails
10-04-2003, 04:11 PM
I've got 1280mb of DDR333 Ram, a 256 and 2 x 512's. I gotta admit I didn't notice a difference when I added the last 512mb, but with most of my PC programs, you wouldn't.

Adobe Photoshop, Premiere and Lightwave would be the most memory hungry I guess.

I'm thinking of selling one of the 512mb sticks though, because honestly I need the money. But I got them for a great price (well, great here in New Zealand), NZ$99, which is about US$50. I'd sell it for the same price.

Anyways, I was also wondering, how much ram do you guys (and gals) have?

Dellik
10-04-2003, 06:34 PM
Take any advice i give with a pinch of salt as i'm a newbie on here too... but if i was you i wouldn't sell any Ram. You can never have enough of it!

It's like running on a treadmill... if you stop trying to keep up you fall off the back... :)

If i was so desperate for the money though i'd sell my soul... not the Ram!!!!!!:eek:

Oooooh and by the way i have 1 gig of ram so i'll buy the 512 off you... just joking.

Anyway hope that at least helped you a little.

munky
10-06-2003, 04:35 AM
Keep your Ram sell your mum

I have 1.5Gb of ram and if I could put more in my mac I would. When I get a new Mac and a Pc(for the kids) I'll be putting a minimum of 2gbs in each. I don't know the technicalities of it but more is better.

regards

paul

ruud
10-06-2003, 05:05 AM
Hi as long as you don't create Hollywood style complex Sci-Fi shots with millions of poly's and numerious space vessels... 512 mb of ram should do just fine :)

So if you need the money... you don't need the ram...

Ruuterdetuutert

iluvatar
10-06-2003, 05:06 AM
i sometimes render on my laptop with 64 mb ram :p for serious renders, i use a renderfarm, all 512 mb ram... but i ordered a new laptop (used) wich has 320 mb ram :D

WizCraker
10-06-2003, 05:26 AM
Currently 512, hopefully more in the future when I upgrade to a Boxx Dual Opteron.

Tails