PDA

View Full Version : LW 10 Rendering Quicktime No Options



3Dswade
05-03-2011, 02:54 PM
I noticed this with 9.6.1 Beta and in 10 also, on my Mac dual quad OS version 10.6.7. In Render Globals when I have quicktime selected there isn't any options when you click Options tab. Is it me, my machine or is everyone having this issue. I have been just rendering in 9.6 if I need to render something with an alpha.

danielkaiser
05-03-2011, 03:09 PM
Always render to an image sequence using PNG or other format that supports an alpha channel.

Rendering to a video format can be dangerous, if you suffer a crash with video you'll have to start the render from the start with a image sequence you can pickup where you left off.

vfxwizard
05-03-2011, 03:16 PM
Since you can run LW 10 you have snow leopard, and there's limited quicktime access for 64 bit applications. So, no options dialog for qt movies.

JonW
05-03-2011, 04:42 PM
Render images, then you have the option of optimising compression. Also if you get a blackout or some similar disaster you can start rendering from the last saved frame.