PDA

View Full Version : Need Help

mjroddy
10-03-2003, 11:59 PM
I use to be a decent animator, but I've never been accused of being a modeler - let alone a um... boner.
I've got a little character that is sort of my mascot. I was actually able to model the guy and am pretty happy with the results. Golly, if you take a look you'll have to be really, REALLY impressed (joke). Ok. It's a stick figure. But I'd really like to animate him. So I'm here to ask if anyone would be willing to properly bone him and create any IK necessary. He's a magician like a very dramatic David Coperfield or similar. His name is Sticky the Magician (TM). His girlfriend (yet to be modeled) is Tricky (TM).
I'm an extreme newbie, but need the bloke for a web site I'm creating. I've put up a very simple web page with two pics showing the 3D model in a neutral pose and the original pose (in 2D) that he'll end up in.
If anyone is interested in setting him up for me, I'd be thrilled and heap many good wishes on you! Please contact me privately at [email protected] and/or [email protected]
The web page is at
http://webpages.charter.net/matthewroddy/StickyTemplate.html
Thanks for all consideration! -mjr

toby
10-05-2003, 01:16 PM
I wouldn't bother with bones on a simple model like that, just apply IK to the legs - IK isn't normally used for the upper body anyway.

mjroddy
10-05-2003, 02:14 PM
Man!
The stuff I've forgotten about LW. Pitty. But now I'm back on the road to Understanding.
I guess what I don't understand is how one would animate him without bones. I'd like for him to walk and dance a bit as he performs. Moving the arms about and all that is a no brainer, but keeping all things attached (hands, etc) would be a trick of keyframing without bones, right?
Oops. I should call that a rig, these days, I think.