PDA

View Full Version : Render artifact at objects border

madno
04-24-2011, 04:59 AM
I have a problem with a line appearing at the border where two objects are touching each other (see screenshot). The postions of the objects are set by entering values into the edit fields, so they should be exact. I am quite new to LW so there might something I am doing wrong. Does somebody have a tip how to avoid this line artifact?

Thanks in advance.

eagleeyed
04-24-2011, 06:35 AM
It may be because you have overlapping polygons, by saying 2 objects is it that you have put 2 different cubes/shapes right next to/on top of each other?

If that is the case, you will need to get rid of the duplicate geometry. If you are not planning on animating those two parts and want them to always stay that way, easiest way would be to select each overlapping point (so two points at a time) and then weld them together. This will make it so its all just one object, connecting them.

If there is a polygon(s) between both connecting edges of the objects delete them before you weld as they will not be needed.

If it isnt that (and I have my own doubts as to whether it could be that, I am rather new to LightWave myself) hopefully someone more informed will be able to give you a answer. :)

madno
04-24-2011, 08:34 AM
Thanks for the answer.
Yes I have two cubes put next to each other. But the geometry does not overlap (see the point info in the screenshot). Problem is, I want the objects to be on their own, so I can't solve my problem by connection them to one object.

hunter
04-28-2011, 04:26 PM
Is it possible that there are some 2 point polys there?

Mr Rid
04-28-2011, 05:26 PM
Yeah, looks like 2-point polys lurking. In Modeler, Polygons mode, click 'W', and see if '2 Vertices' is active. Or, disable 'Render Lines' in Layout render globals.

JonW
04-28-2011, 06:53 PM