PDA

View Full Version : Downconverting HD to SD



vanderwielen
04-16-2011, 07:21 AM
After extensive testing, it became clear that the 850 does not do a sufficient job of downconverting HD to SD. We down convert our HD for several purposes such as DVD recording in anamorphic 4x3 and feeding ENG and SAT trucks that are still SD. We are using a Ki-Pro by AJA. Others are using FS1 by AJA. These hardware devices are superior.

Brian Mirrlees
04-16-2011, 09:00 AM
Agreed... The FS-1 is an excellent product, and offers a good feature to price ratio.

b.

Marty01
04-18-2011, 02:04 PM
Since I will be doing this a lot to distribute on standard DVD, I was wondering if there are any other opinions on doing this with the 850.

Also, is the quality better to render to SD instead of playing out the timeline to SD?

Thanks for any info,
Marty