PDA

View Full Version : Any way to do this?



Tony3d
04-09-2011, 09:20 PM
Hi, Is there anyway to use imageworld in the background tab, and not have the image render in the final rendering yet still make the reflections? I know you can do this in Modo. Such a simple thing. is the some plugin perhaps?

nickdigital
04-09-2011, 09:47 PM
My guess is no. You could maybe bake the environment to geometry and then have it "Unseen by Camera" in the Object Properties.

Amurrell
04-09-2011, 11:17 PM
Or could you not map the image as a reflection image on the object?

hcoat
04-09-2011, 11:52 PM
Just save your file as png32 or tiff32 and you'll get what your looking for.

Dodgy
04-10-2011, 12:43 AM
Add a background image in the compositing tab, like just white. It won't show up in reflections, your imageworld image will, but your image world image will be hidden by the white image.

Tony3d
04-10-2011, 07:21 AM
Add a background image in the compositing tab, like just white. It won't show up in reflections, your imageworld image will, but your image world image will be hidden by the white image.

Ok, that's a great idea. To bad Newtek just can't make that a one button choice like Modo.

richdj
04-10-2011, 07:46 AM
Add a background image in the compositing tab, like just white. It won't show up in reflections, your imageworld image will, but your image world image will be hidden by the white image.

Use a 1x1 pixel image. I have a collection of them, I'll find the link and post it..

Rich

wrench
04-10-2011, 02:24 PM
Make a red 10x10 image and put it as the background image. ImageWorld is located behind it so it will be used as the environment, but the red image will be the background of your render. Why red? Because red can be any colour you like if you use the F6 Image Editor's controls - want white? Turn the saturation down to -1.0. Want black? Turn the Brightness down to -1.0. Want green? Change the hue (0.33 is a good vibrant green).

B

Cageman
04-10-2011, 02:35 PM
Another trick is to use a coloured sphere like 1km in diameter. Flip it so it has the normals facing inwards. In Layout, make the sphere Unseen by Rays and GI and turn off all shadow properties.

Tony3d
04-11-2011, 12:47 AM
Thanks to all for all the great ideas. This helped me a lot. Guess I better upgrade to 10 before the price goes up. Any idea how long I have?

hrgiger
04-11-2011, 04:42 AM
Until CORE is released. I wouldn't want to speculate when that might happen so I would do it as soon as you were able.

Tony3d
04-11-2011, 06:38 PM
The render preview would be worth alone for me as I don't have Fprime.