PDA

View Full Version : dual processor question!!!!



dilaima
10-02-2003, 11:31 AM
hello, i need help to confirm purchasing a new server dual process.
my question is :
in general a dual processor motherboard with 2 xeon 3 ghz cpu, will it give me the speed of 6ghz.

in particular using lightwave can i have the benefit of adding 2 cpu with 3 ghz each (6ghz) when rendering on like this pc.

or should i use the screamernet or a network rendering to find those 2 cpu and render as they are on network.

thank u in advance and sorry for my english.

madrenderman
10-02-2003, 05:14 PM
yes you can use these two cpu to render by screamernet
i have a two xeon 2.9 ghz, and these cpus offer a good speed enhancement

SrE
10-03-2003, 04:01 AM
It depends on the scenes you are going to render:

If rendering uses a lot of RAM (more than 50% of the system RAM or so) you can't use two separated CPU's, because it will surpass you system RAM, so in this case you _have_ to use the 2 CPU's to render the scene, using lightwave.

Otherwise it's faster to render with screamernet to achieve the max performance, on animations each CPU rendering diferent frames and on heavy rad scenes each CPU rendering a slice of the final image.

If my wrong plz someone corrects me.