PDA

View Full Version : Presets



khan973
03-26-2011, 02:41 AM
Hi Guys, I was wondering when we would get descent surface presets.
Those we have in Lw are getting very old Very very old actually!

For lw10 release I expected this to be changed but it doesn't seem like it's ever been thought of.

Who really use them???

We now have powerful nodes so we can't just have those crappy (sorry they really are) presets.
LW gets more and more involved in Archviz, so we could have a few things like concrete, leather, wall paint, brushed aluminium and so on that look convincing.

If I was beginning at LW, Those surfaces would be a real turn off.

Dexter2999
03-26-2011, 02:57 AM
http://www.presetcentral.com/

Iain
03-26-2011, 02:57 AM
I totally agree but then this is why Preset Central was rebooted.

It's underused but there's some great stuff on there and, much like the Maxwell Materials, they are submitted by users.

Oedo 808
03-26-2011, 07:13 AM
Ha, those original presets are classic, it would do more for LightWave if they were removed altogether.

I never could settle into browsing PresetCentral, no directory tree and the inability to open presets in a new tab kill my browsing style. Though I appreciate the efforts that went into it as a free resource.

It's a nice looking site but if it aped something like CG Textures (http://www.cgtextures.com/) I would probably have made more use of it. Once NewTek have added a top row (;)), a link to PresetCentral wouldn't go amiss. I'm sure it's been said before but it would be nice to see Core linked with the site and have the functionality of PSPlant (http://www.presetcentral.com/psplant/) integrated into it as a core feature.

khan973
03-26-2011, 07:18 AM
I know about it, I'm talking about things you get with the package.
It can't be that lame...
For many things we rely on 3rd party apps & plugins but presets could be worked we've had those for years, it's time to rise the level, and it shouldn't be that hard considering the large community.
It could be a contest and you get your name associated with the preset, that's it. Enough to get good quailty ones.

wrench
03-26-2011, 06:06 PM
There are so many things that have never been taken out - anyone use the Image Filter blackandwhite? No? How about either of the two negative Image Filters?

B

chco2
04-05-2011, 02:39 PM
Although I agree the presets should get a overhaul, they do provide me with a quick start when I'm in a hurry. They really aren't that bad.
They are not good also, but they should not be left out.
That said.. We definately need a breathtaking presetlibrary for sure!

Stuff I just did with standard presets is a kitchen quickie in the speedmodeling challenge (http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=118210&page=3) and a sprinkler (http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=118022&page=3)

Ciao,
Charly