View Full Version : Is this true?? A virus warning.

03-23-2011, 06:47 PM
Is this true?? A virus warning.

A friend sent me a harmless e-mail warning me about a virus. Below is a copy and paste from that e-mail. Anyhow. Is this true?


Please Be Extremely Careful especially if using internet mail such as Yahoo, Hotmail, AOL and so on.

This information arrived this morning direct from both Microsoft and Norton.

Please send it to everybody you know who has access to the Internet.

You may receive an apparently harmless email with a PowerPoint presentation

'Life is beautiful.'
If you receive it DO NOT OPEN THE FILE UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES , and delete it immediately.

If you open this file, a message will appear on your screen saying: 'It is too late now, your life is no longer beautiful..'
Subsequently you will LOSE EVERYTHING IN YOUR PC and the person who sent it to you will gain access to your name, e-mail and password.

This is a new virus which started to circulate on Tuesday afternoon.

AOL has already confirmed the severity, and the antivirus software's are not capable of destroying it.

The virus has been created by a hacker who calls himself 'life owner'

and ask them to PASS IT ON IMMEDIATELY!

The CIC Group (Community Integrated Care) is one of the largest and most successful adult social care charities in the UK. We deliver a wide range of services built to meet the individual needs of the people we support. Our Independent Living Services deliver personalised support to adults with disabilities and/or mental health concerns; Senior Care Services provide specialist intermediate, nursing and residential care, and domiciliary care through our subsidiary Inspirit Care; Addictions Services deliver treatment for alcohol, drugs and gambling addictions; and Homelessness Services provide accommodation and support for young homeless adults. To find out more go to: www.c-i-c.co.uk or call us on 0151 420 3637.
Please consider the environment before printing this e-mail
************************************************** ********************
This e-mail and any files transmitted with it contain information, which is private and confidential and/or may be covered by legal professional privilege. It is intended solely for the use of the individual or entity to which it is addressed. If you are not the addressee you are not authorised to read, copy or use the e-mail or any attachment(s). If you are not the intended recipient please contact the sender by return and destroy the e-mail and any attachment(s).
CIC's e-mail system is subject to random monitoring.
************************************************** ********************
Community Integrated Care is a Charitable Company, (Company Reg. No. 2225727), Charity Reg. No (England and Wales) 519996, (Scotland) SC039671. Inspirit Care Limited is a Charitable Company (Company Reg.. No. 4180614), Charity Reg. No (England and Wales) 1106852. The registered address for CIC and Inspirit Care Limited is: Old Market Court. Miners Way, Widnes, Cheshire, WA8 7SP.


03-23-2011, 06:53 PM
It appears to be a hoax, and not a very new one:


03-23-2011, 06:54 PM

beat me to it. Amazing people still fall for this stuff.

03-23-2011, 07:00 PM
"Please send it to everybody you know..."

First sign of a scam/hoax.

03-23-2011, 08:15 PM
"Please send it to everybody you know..."

First sign of a scam/hoax.

Wait....what?...you mean Microsoft isn't going to send me money?
Well, at least I still get that share for helping that General's widow move that money out of the Congo.

03-24-2011, 05:47 AM
Crap like this becomes it's own virus, from the nuisance factor.

If you've got a reputable virus scanner that's up to date, delete the message, and enjoy the day.

03-24-2011, 05:53 AM
How come you'll get the money transferred from Africa before me?Sent them a photocopy of my passport and got confirmation email that that 40$ million will be transfered on Friday?

03-24-2011, 08:27 AM
I've won!?

03-24-2011, 08:58 AM
dude come on..........

03-24-2011, 10:04 AM
I wouldn't worry about it. Of course that's easy for me to say - I am making millions because all my dead uncles in foreign countries have their lawyer's and power of attorneys contacting me with the millions I have been left.
Once those cheques come in, I'll be laughing.
In the meantime, I am making a killing cashing cheques for a Nigerian company.
Believe NOTHING that you see, hear, read or whatever. Use your head man.

03-24-2011, 11:53 AM
...and the person who sent it to you will gain access to your name...
I must say i was really pissed when i found out there were other ppl with the same name as me... i think i was 4 or 5, never saw that kid again...

Anyway, don't post apparently suspicious stuff with live hyperlinks on it, please. You might just doing their job.


03-24-2011, 12:14 PM
Always easy to spot these when there's a title line like

Life is beautiful

I love you

Official: Blah blah blah, etc

What they won't tell you


Life is not beautiful, watch the nature channel, they'll so ya.

Nobody truly loves you. Not enough to forgive a drunken speech at their wedding...don't believe me? Try it.

Official: There is no such thing, everything is basically heresay these days so as to retain deniability.

What they won't tell you... this one's my favorite because these days...there's nothing they won't tell you for a buck.


03-24-2011, 01:19 PM
Oops. Too late for me. My sister sent me a "life is beautiful" email last week with a Powerpoint presentation attached. It had some nice images in it, but I haven't noticed a virus yet. Maybe us Mac users are immune to it.


03-30-2011, 11:21 AM
I especially use browser based email just so I don't have to worry too much about my computer getting directly attacked by executing a virus.

Unless they can get the virus into plain text / html (and then though NoScript) then I'll begin to worry.