PDA

View Full Version : LW10 and XP - Newtek, help please ;)

Pavlov
03-21-2011, 08:01 AM
hi all,
as stated here: http://www.newtek.com/lightwave/requirements.php , it seems LW 10 wont support XP.
This is very important for me since i have a Samba server (updated to latest version) and it works nicely with all my XP machines, while all Seven machines have severe autentication/remote desktop/file transfer speed issues. I never loved Vista/Seven, and with these issues i'm going to remove all Seven trash from my machines and downgrade to XP64.
It would be useful for me to hear an official voice about Newtek not supporting XP in the future, and if true, what could happen using LW10 with XP (from "small slowdowns" to "wont work at all", as example).

thanks in advance,
Paolo

wibly wobly
03-21-2011, 08:17 AM
It was working just fine for me a few weeks ago before I upgraded. No idea what it'll be like in the future, namely Core (that was working fine under XP as well).

WilliamVaughan
03-21-2011, 08:31 AM
I've been running LW10 on XP64 with no issues at home and in the studio.

Pavlov
03-21-2011, 08:34 AM
ok, at least current LW 10 works. I'm curious about CORE tough.. maybe someone at NT could already know.

thanks,
Paolo

Silkrooster
03-21-2011, 10:14 PM
So far I haven't noticed much of any issues with windows 7. The only thing so far which I consider as minor, is some delays in modeler. But I was able to load a 4 million poly mesh. Which I am just amazed with since my last system was 32 bit with XP. My new system has 6 cores and 16 gig of ram. But I am thinking that the cores are not fully utilized yet. I know the VPR is a CPU hog, but then again this is the first commercial version.

JonW
03-21-2011, 11:21 PM
Running LW on XP 64 bit on 6 boxes with Screamernet. I only fired up Core when I was trying to get LW10 installed as the whole procedure is as clear as mud.

kopperdrake
03-22-2011, 03:53 AM