PDA

View Full Version : Rusty/chipped paint Surface?



TSpyrison
10-01-2003, 03:02 PM
Im trying to surface an object, to get a chipped paint with rust underneath look..

Is there a good tutorial out there someone can point me to?

Thanks,

Tom

WizCraker
10-01-2003, 03:08 PM
Here is a starting point for you.

http://www.deaddreamer.com/v10/tuto/metal.html

mrunion
10-01-2003, 06:11 PM
You might also try this:

http://gug.sunsite.dk/tutorials/ronq1/

The tute is for the GIMP, but I'm sure you could adapt it to another proggy. Heck, the GIMP is available for about every platform I know of, so you might downloaded if you needed to.

(Note, there are other tuorials on this site too. There is one on rust that may help too.)

WizCraker
10-01-2003, 09:47 PM
Not to mention you can use the Gimp tutorial in any paint program.

Oh and if you are interested a major release of Litestep has just happend. http://beyondconvention.net/ohussain/lsinstaller/

TSpyrison
10-02-2003, 12:27 PM
Cool, THanks,

That should get me started..

kevman3d
10-02-2003, 09:13 PM
I have a couple of procedurals at presetcentral that you can rip apart for ideas as well...

http://www.presetcentral.com/presets/232-Corroded_painted_surface.zip
http://www.presetcentral.com/presets/195-Rust_Patches.zip

However, procedurals are not overly predictable (even with clever weightmapping mask techniques, etc) so hand-painting textures will give you more realistic and better control over your surfacing...

Enjoy!

Kev.

TSpyrison
10-03-2003, 12:52 PM
Ok..
Here is where its at.. Not happy with it yet...

How can i give the "paint" layer some depth?

mlinde
10-03-2003, 02:32 PM
What about this:
-take the paint image into photoshop (or the alpha, if you have one). Invert the alpha image, and make a selection of it. Use the selection - grow option to make the alpha smaller than it was before. Save this as a new alpha for a shadow. Now, use the original alpha and create a shadowy area around the paint edges. Comp this new shadow image with it's own alpha mask to create a shadowy edge to suggest depth to the edges of the paint.

Does that make any sense?

is this a... vincent or bob (don't remember the old guy) from The Black Hole?!

TSpyrison
10-03-2003, 02:37 PM
Yea!

Bob!

It was in my head, and I knew it wasn't my idea, but I couldn't think of where it was from...

All I remember is the head though, ill have to see if i can find some pictures on the net to see what the rest of him looked like..

The whole thing is done with procedurals.. otherwise the alpha-shadow idea might work..

mlinde
10-03-2003, 04:03 PM
Originally posted by TSpyrison
The whole thing is done with procedurals.. otherwise the alpha-shadow idea might work..

Ok, what about duplicating, shrinking slightly, and changing the color of the paint (yellow) procedurals, then changing the layering to put a "shadow" version a layer lower?

kevman3d
10-04-2003, 10:54 PM
Cool! Black hole robot! :)

If you want to make a procedural 'smaller', check to see if it has a 'contrast' option. If so, increasing the contrast will tighten the edges, making the procedural a little 'smaller' for you...

As for the rust, hmmm, it looks perhaps a little 'busy' for rust - Maybe less 'patches' across the surface, or larger ones... As I'd mentioned previously, procedurals are a little 'unpredictable' making them great for random effects like surface rust, but to get a more realistic feel to your rust, you might want to look at trying to get maps around the inner edges, where you might expect the rust to form... You could do this with weightmaps as an alpha on top of an additional 'rust' colouration layer if you want to stick with your procedural approach...

Also, the paint appears to be a bit 'hot' and burnt out in places. I would suggest you perhaps might want to drop the diffuse level a bit, say perhaps to 80% or so

I would try setting the 'colour hilights' setting to about 75% under the 'Advanced' tab on the surface)

As for colour, you might want to lower the saturation of the yellow a bit less... Its funny just how much a lower saturation can improve the look of something. I've been learning that a lot lately! ;)

But otherwise looking like a good project! Keep us updated how it goes! :)

Zach
10-05-2003, 04:58 AM
Hey, I don't know if you've tried this, but use a bump map for the relief between the paint and metal, and then create a gradient and set it to bump in its input parameter and start coloring. Basically, it sets the color of the gradient key to the corresponding slope (0 to 1.0) of the bump map. This way, you can keep your surfacing resolution independant and save the surface to the presets for use with other objects.

TSpyrison
10-06-2003, 09:41 AM
Cool.. Lots of ideas to try..
Now if my boss would quit giving me actual work to do..

:)

toby
10-06-2003, 12:53 PM
This is a great place to use the Surface Mixer shader. It allows you to tweak your Rust and Paint surfaces separately, then mix them using the bump channel, so you end up with paint on all the high spots and rust in the low spots.

What you need to do is add an extra polygon to your model, in it's own layer and turn the layer off, to store the rust surface: when you load the model into layout the rust surface will come in but not the extra polygon.

Then go to your Paint surface and apply the surface mixer, select the Rust surface, set the blend to 0 and add a gradient set to 'bump' - then tweak the bump ( on the Paint surface ) and the gradient ( in the Surf mixer pallette ) til you get what you want.

This is such a bitchin' tool, you can even have a different bump in the Rust surface.

kevman3d
10-06-2003, 01:27 PM
Um, was there a bug fix to Surfmixer? Last time I recall it didn't do the bump channel... Only worked in Viper and Preview (sadly)

Here's a post I made on the topic a while back...
http://vbulletin.newtek.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=4965

toby
10-06-2003, 01:41 PM
ack!

he's right - it works to blend the surfaces but doesn't see the bump channel of the 'rust' surface.

kevman3d
10-06-2003, 05:04 PM
Yeh, its a pity - Its an idea with big potential! I almost cried when I found my lovely texturing experiments that looked so nice in VIPER just didn't work...

I used it to add animated lava flowing in cracks on meteoroids - Well, in VIPER that is! :)

toby
10-06-2003, 05:19 PM
oh well, can't have everything, I guess it's not ready to be 'pushed' like we like to do - it's still my favorite new feature tho - makes dirt and rust fun instead of tedious, saves so much labor and conusion that you can do a much better job in less time.

riki
10-06-2003, 06:47 PM
I've got some presets here which might get you started.

http://www.luxology.net/content/image/content/0000001043_s.jpg

http://www.luxology.net/community/lwpreset.aspx?id=175

http://www.luxology.net/content/image/content/0000001045_s.jpg

http://www.luxology.net/community/lwpreset.aspx?id=177

http://www.luxology.net/content/image/content/0000001046_s.jpg

http://www.luxology.net/community/lwpreset.aspx?id=178

http://www.luxology.net/content/image/content/0000001047_s.jpg

http://www.luxology.net/community/lwpreset.aspx?id=179