PDA

View Full Version : Quadro 4000 for mac?



Sarford
03-09-2011, 04:24 AM
My GT8800 in my mac pro got fried last week and to replace it would set me back 360 euro's.
So I'm thinking of ordering a Quadro 4000 for mac in the US and install it myself.
I especially want a Nvidia card couse I've heard bad stories about the ATI ones in combination with 3D.
I should note I use both mac and pc programs on my mac. Also, the cuda is a nice addition for Octane stuff.
Does anybody have any experience with this card, is it any good?

Otterman
03-09-2011, 05:36 AM
I have the 5600 Quadro in my macpro, its a couple of years old now but it works fine and dandy with lightwave. That said, lightwave doesnt take advantage of it oober power. Most benefits are seen in after effects.

Sarford
03-09-2011, 01:46 PM
Thanks for the reply Otterman,
I just ordered my Quadro 4000 at Safe Harbour Computers.