PDA

View Full Version : Interesting



jbcaro
03-05-2011, 04:16 PM
I just installed LightWave 10 and when I went to enter my key information I got an error that my unlock code was not valid for the attached dongle. I had entered the 32-bit license key since I am using an original Intel MacPro (MacPro 1,1). I thought that those did not support the 64-bit version of OS X. I am sure that OS X on my machine is 32-bit. How can I tell?

When I entered the 64-bit license key it took it no problem and LW 10 runs just fine.

Apparently LW runs 64-bit on 32-bit OS. I guess this is ok.

I am using a Rainbow Duo dongle.

jbcaro

gerry_g
03-05-2011, 06:14 PM
Just swapped out my Rainbow Duo for the current version, I had same problem, in fact every one on a Mac with this dongle will too when they migrate to LW10, it may run ok now in 64bit mode but if you buy a new machine some time in the future it wont. Older machines (1.1 through to 2.1) have a 32bit EFI that seems to be ok with this dongle but only in 64bit mode, newer machines all have a 64bit EFI and the dongle will not recognise a LW10 ID in any mode, I know cos I had this problem with my newer machines. Contact Newtek customer support and arrange to get it swapped, the newer dongles report only one ID on a Mac regardless of 32/64bit mode so is less of a pain anyway. How do you know which mode your in, look at the title bar after the words Lightwave 10 10.0 – it says (64bit) or otherwise if you're in 32bit

jbcaro
03-05-2011, 06:24 PM
Ok, I will contact NewTek when I can. As for what mode I'm running in, LW 10 says I'm in 64-bit mode even though my OS is 32-bit.

JeffrySG
03-05-2011, 08:57 PM
Ok, I will contact NewTek when I can. As for what mode I'm running in, LW 10 says I'm in 64-bit mode even though my OS is 32-bit.

LW10 needs OSX 10.6 or later to run too, btw. I'm on a MP 1,1 and I am running 10.6.x just fine. Any Intel Mac should be ok as far as I know though.

jwiede
03-06-2011, 03:55 PM
MacPro 1,1's are perfectly capable of running 64-bit apps, as well. The difference is that they run 32-bit EFI, and thus cannot boot a "fully 64-bit" OSX, but that doesn't impact whether _apps_ can run in 64-bit mode or not.

Just select Layout (or Modeler) from LW10 in Finder, and do "Get Info" (cmd-I). If the "Run in 32-bit mode" box is unchecked, you're running them in 64-bit mode.