PDA

View Full Version : animation practise.

oliversimonnet
03-01-2011, 12:36 PM
Hey
I realised i never really do much animation because im not very good at it, but if i dont practice im never going to progress. So here is an animation i spent the last two days on.
I was woundering what you guys/girls think. :)

Thanks in advance.
Animation practice (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5z7vnE03M1k)

Dexter2999
03-01-2011, 12:59 PM
Smaller chunks, Sir.

You are trying to do too much. You have so many exercises in just one clip.
Walking
Running
Climbing
Jumping

You could spend 4 or 5 seconds on each of those.

oliversimonnet
03-01-2011, 01:13 PM
what do you mean? :)
(i wanted to chalenge myself. :) )

gordonrobb
03-01-2011, 01:16 PM
Looks good to me. A couple of niggles. When he jumps the gap, he flys and lands too quickly I think. Also, when he leaps up the wall, he good do with his hands going over his head.

oliversimonnet
03-01-2011, 01:30 PM
hmm i agree with him landing to fast, timeing it was a nightmare, the keyframeing is a bit of a mess :) im happy witht he result tho.
yeah now that it hink about it his hands should go over his head, thanks.

Ryan Roye
03-01-2011, 01:54 PM
I think one of the biggest things you need to work on is "anticipation"...

To jump high, you first have to swing your arms back before throwing them up for maximum momentum.

When approaching a ledge intending to climb it, you have to stretch your your arms beforehand.

When you start walking, you tend to lean forward slightly before taking that first step.

Always think ahead when moving characters. This is something I often have to remind myself to do... it can be tricky, and I imagine even experts find themselves scratching their heads at times in complex scenarios and thinking "ok, how does this work physically? What are the inertial forces at work here? How should my characters react to these forces?"

oliversimonnet
03-01-2011, 04:47 PM
thanks for the tips