PDA

View Full Version : off topic - sound cards

art
02-28-2011, 09:39 AM
I know many people here are knowledgeable about music creation, tools, hardware etc. I'm looking to retire my soundblaster audigy. I'm on win 7 and the original drivers that give me access to all features no longer work and the MS' drivers are basic. I also use FL studio as my DAW but I think the latency of the card is not the best and I'm getting lots of crackling noises etc. I can fix it to some degree by increasing the buffer, but then the delay/response is usually very annoying.
Can someone recommend a decent replacement card that can be used with DAWs and as a regular sound card? I know there are external (usb?) sound cards available today. I have no experience with those but I would not mind trying one out. I am not a pro user and I don't need anything too fancy, but ideally I want something that has easily accessible inputs (via front panel if it's PCI card) for a guitar, etc, ASIO support so I can route inputs inside FL studio (or other software). My budget is about $200-$300 max. Any comments or suggestions are welcome. Thanks :)

XswampyX
02-28-2011, 04:40 PM
Have you tried the KX drivers?

http://kxproject.com/

The kX Audio Driver is an independent WDM (Windows Driver Model) driver for all EMU10K1 and EMU10K2-based soundcards manufactured by Creative Technology Ltd. and/or E-mu Systems Inc., including the SoundBlaster Live! series, the E-mu Audio Production Studio (APS) card, and the Audigy / Audigy2 series of cards. (Full List).

The kX Audio Driver package includes driver system files and setup files as well as a powerful audio mixer application (the kX Mixer), which acts as a Graphical User Interface, providing access to many of the driver's internal functions. The following features are either fully supported or partially supported in the latest release of the kX Audio Driver:

* Wave Recording & Playback
* MIDI Synthesizer (Soundfont-based) and MIDI UART In/Out