PDA

View Full Version : Help with realistic coke liquid

Kunzlow
02-28-2011, 07:52 AM
Hi everyone, please how do i make a realistic foaming coke liquid in realflow and bringing it back to lightwave for texturing. i would really appreciate detailed tips. thank you.

bazsa73
02-28-2011, 02:58 PM
Just get a hispeed camera and shoot it, then you dont have to worry about annoying crappy buggy 3D software and stupid workflows.

stiff paper
02-28-2011, 03:34 PM
Oh, hey, listen... if you haven't used RealFlow before then getting it back to LightWave is the very least of your problems.

I can't even begin to tell you how to use RF in a post in a forum... it's more... convoluted than that. (And I'm no expert anyway... All I ever do is fumble through with it.)

But. If we assume that you've got your head around RF and everything is groovy with the simulation you've done, then you'd want to export the result out as an object sequence. The last time I had to do this the NextLimit LW plugin wasn't working with the latest LW. If it is working now, then you use that plugin and set your surfaces on the reference object in LW and you're good to go.

If their plugin isn't working at the moment, then you can use LW's own object sequence import and it'll all still work just fine. Unfortunately, that would mean that you'd have to apply your surface to every single one of the objects in the object sequence. To do this you'd surface the first object in the sequence and save it. Then you'd set the Surface Editor "Edit by" setting to be "Scene" then load in, say, the next 20 objects in your sequence (there's a limit, can't remember how many), then you load in the one you've surfaced and the surface is automatically applied to the other 20. Save all objects. Do the next 20 just the same.

(If you think that's painful, I had to do that for thousands of objects, a while back.)