PDA

View Full Version : RAM for a MacPro 1,1?



JeffrySG
02-21-2011, 01:50 PM
Does anyone have any recommendations for a place to purchase RAM for a MacPro 1,1. (Dual core 2.66 Xenon 2006)?

Probably looking for 4 2GB or 2 4GB (or I guess even 4 1GB). I have 4 1GB in it right now. Not sure if one config would be better than another or if I should switch positions of the current ram as well.

I'm not really finding it in any of my searches so far.

Cheers!

Scazzino
02-21-2011, 02:17 PM
I use MacSales.com (http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/apple/memory/)

JeffrySG
02-21-2011, 10:01 PM
^Thanks, I'll check them out. :)

lertola2
02-21-2011, 11:58 PM
http://www.datamemorysystems.com/

They always have great prices for ram in my experience.

virtualcomposer
02-22-2011, 01:20 AM
I use MacSales.com (http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/apple/memory/)

Yeah, they are one of the highest rated from what I've read over many forums. I actually just bought 8gigs of RAM for my macbook pro i5 so I can't wait to start getting rid of the glitches!

CG Addict
02-22-2011, 06:57 AM
I use Ramjet, never been disappointed. They have a full 100% money-back guarantee or replacement, no questions asked. I once had to replace some ram (8gb), they rushed me out replacement ram with the return envelope for the bad ram. Includes lifetime warranty.

http://www.ramjet.com/macpro.asp#1stGen

http://www.ramjet.com/warranty.asp

(2006 1st and 2nd gen.) 2gb is $99 and 4gb is $149
(3rd gen.) 2gb is $59 and 4gb is $117
(4th gen.) 2gb is $59 and 4gb is $117

JeffrySG
02-22-2011, 09:29 AM
Hey, thanks everyone for the info!! I'll check them all out but it looks like ramjet has some great guarantees.

Cheers!

4dartist
02-22-2011, 10:29 AM
We've probably gotten about 60 gigs or so from thechipmerchant.com (http://www.thechipmerchant.com)

No issues so far. I think all of our mac pros are 2,1.

JeffrySG
02-22-2011, 11:59 AM
We've probably gotten about 60 gigs or so from thechipmerchant.com (http://www.thechipmerchant.com)

No issues so far. I think all of our mac pros are 2,1.

Thanks :)

BigHache
02-22-2011, 01:58 PM
To my knowledge, "Mac" ram is technically no different than the same spec ram that could be used in a non Mac machine. The only difference I've seen in ram that's marketed as "Mac" is the packaging and usually a price increase.

You can find several reviews of Mac users on Newegg that report "non Mac" ram working fine in Mac Pros. You just have to match the specs.

Scazzino
02-22-2011, 06:15 PM
Yup, OWC (MacSales.com (http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/apple/memory/)) has the same lifetime warranty, no questions asked. I once had a stick go bad many years after purchase and they sent a pre-paid shipping envelope to send it back and they sent me a replacement. At the time the size I had bought was no longer available, so they even upgraded it to a higher amount of RAM. :D

And they also have hard drives (http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/firewire/) and other upgrades as well as memory...

Scazzino
02-22-2011, 06:22 PM
To my knowledge, "Mac" ram is technically no different than the same spec ram that could be used in a non Mac machine. The only difference I've seen in ram that's marketed as "Mac" is the packaging and usually a price increase.

You can find several reviews of Mac users on Newegg that report "non Mac" ram working fine in Mac Pros. You just have to match the specs.

That can work, but sometimes can run into headaches. I once bought three Power Mac G4's from CompUSA and they had used properly spec'd PC memory which caused intermittent freezes. I tracked it down to the extra memory they had installed. Though the basic specs were the same, there were some internal timing issues that caused problems coming out of sleep state. Sometimes the cooling requirements/heat sinks may be different as well. I'd recommend buying from a bona-fide Mac dealer. You may be fine with PC RAM, but then again sometimes that can result in problems... FWIW

aa1037
02-22-2011, 06:23 PM
I've also had very good experiences with macsales - both RAM and hard drives.

I've also used ramjet and also had no problems.

jwiede
02-22-2011, 09:08 PM
I use transintl.com (http://www.transintl.com) personally, purchased all my MacPro 1,1's memory there other than whatever minimal amount Apple demanded I buy with the box. The only problem I ever encountered was a bad FBDIMM. They had me run diags to figure out which it was (to be sure it was just one), and then they overnighted a replacement out with a label to send the bad one back. I'm very satisfied as a customer.

JeffrySG
02-22-2011, 10:12 PM
So for all of the techy people here... If I want to add 4GB is it better for me to get 2-2GB cards or 4-1GB cards?

Do you guys know if the OWC sells the ram in matched pairs? I didn't see it listed on their site but RamJet does specifically say that.

BigHache
02-24-2011, 01:05 AM
That can work, but sometimes can run into headaches...
That's interesting to note. Though G4 hardware is a bit ago from current Intel base Macs. Back then I would completely agree.


So for all of the techy people here... If I want to add 4GB is it better for me to get 2-2GB cards or 4-1GB cards?
There are two ways to look at that. 1) 4x 1GB sticks will be cheaper. 2) 2x 2GB sticks will use fewer slots.

Just depends on your budget and desires.

JeffrySG
02-24-2011, 09:15 AM
Yeah, I'm not too concerned with filling all my slots as I don't think I'll be doing any more upgrades to this machine. But I was more concerned due to speed efficiencies. I know it's better to install in matched pairs but is it faster to have 6 cards installed or 8 cards? or maybe it doesn't matter as far as speed.

jwiede
02-25-2011, 02:44 AM
You need ram in 4-wide sets for maximum performance with a MacPro 1,1. Since you presumably already have RAM in the machine, the question is how many slots the existing RAM is consuming (and as what size DIMMs)?

If you currently have 2x2GB DIMMs, you need to add 2x2GB FBDIMMs for maximum performance. If you have 4x(something) already, you'll want to add more as 4x1GB DIMMs. The "Apple System Profiler" utility's "memory" section can show the existing memory configuration, if you'd rather not open up the box before ordering.

Transintl definitely sells matched sets, and understand the whole MacPro 1,1 performance situation, you can also check out their website as a guide to explain the specific needs of the box (I have one as well, with 12GB in it currently as 4x2GB and 4x1GB).

JeffrySG
02-25-2011, 07:17 AM
You need ram in 4-wide sets for maximum performance with a MacPro 1,1. Since you presumably already have RAM in the machine, the question is how many slots the existing RAM is consuming (and as what size DIMMs)?

If you currently have 2x2GB DIMMs, you need to add 2x2GB FBDIMMs for maximum performance. If you have 4x(something) already, you'll want to add more as 4x1GB DIMMs. The "Apple System Profiler" utility's "memory" section can show the existing memory configuration, if you'd rather not open up the box before ordering.

Transintl definitely sells matched sets, and understand the whole MacPro 1,1 performance situation, you can also check out their website as a guide to explain the specific needs of the box (I have one as well, with 12GB in it currently as 4x2GB and 4x1GB).

Great! thanks for the info!

Yes, I have my original 4x 1GB in the first four slots. So I have the last 4 remaining. I think I will just add another 4 1GB to it. It should be a nice increase in ram and I'll probably be due for a new workstation eventually anyway. I appreciate the info! :)