PDA

View Full Version : Imported graphic from PC slightly smaller in Tricaster



tarsierspectral
02-18-2011, 08:05 AM
Hi,

The title meant to say PS not PC. PS for Photoshop

I import a graphic into TextEdit. It is basically a bar extending from one side of the screen to another. When I import it looks great in Text Edit. When I view it in Tricaster in the Live window, the graphic doesn't go all the way to the edges. It looks like I made the graphic too short. Any thoughts?

kltv
02-18-2011, 10:54 AM
What is the size of the graphic you are making in photoshop?

Kris

tarsierspectral
02-18-2011, 12:23 PM
What is the size of the graphic you are making in photoshop?

Kris

1920x1080

joseburgos
02-19-2011, 07:03 PM
TextEdit as in SD TriCaster? Change the resolution to 1440x720. TextEdit is scaling the HD image to SD resolution and that is why it may be cut off.

tarsierspectral
02-20-2011, 06:48 AM
TextEdit as in SD TriCaster? Change the resolution to 1440x720. TextEdit is scaling the HD image to SD resolution and that is why it may be cut off.
Why should I change it to 1440x720 if my show is 1920x1080? Tricaster 300 not SD. The image looks fine in TextEdit, it doesn't look fine once I use it in my show. The image is shorter by like 10 pixels.

brwainer
02-20-2011, 07:20 AM
maybe check your image in Photoshop is in square pixels? View>Pixel Aspect Ratio> (choose "Square" or "Delete..."). I don't know if this would have any effect on the TC or the file that is actually sent to TextEdit, but its worth checking.

joseburgos
02-21-2011, 05:12 AM
Why should I change it to 1440x720 if my show is 1920x1080? Tricaster 300 not SD. The image looks fine in TextEdit, it doesn't look fine once I use it in my show. The image is shorter by like 10 pixels.

Guess the word TextEdit is throwing me as it is a SD TriCaster term. In XD TriCaster models it's Graphics or just LiveText.

What file format? I prefer to use .psd out of Photoshop.

tarsierspectral
02-21-2011, 06:13 AM
maybe check your image in Photoshop is in square pixels? View>Pixel Aspect Ratio> (choose "Square" or "Delete..."). I don't know if this would have any effect on the TC or the file that is actually sent to TextEdit, but its worth checking.
thanks, I'll try this.

tarsierspectral
02-21-2011, 06:14 AM
Guess the word TextEdit is throwing me as it is a SD TriCaster term. In XD TriCaster models it's Graphics or just LiveText.

What file format? I prefer to use .psd out of Photoshop.
Yes, sorry LiveText.
It's a psd file, flattened. No layers.

joseburgos
02-21-2011, 06:20 AM
Yes, sorry LiveText.
It's a psd file, flattened. No layers.

As a FYI, you don't need to flatten it/merge layers. It should load just fine with layers. I prefer this just in case I need to re-edit the image.
I am off till tomorrow otherwise I would volunteer to test and examine your image.
As for how I start, I use the PS template of film, video and choose 1920 x 1080 from the list. This way I get the safe zones and true square 1920x1080 image.

Keep us posted.

brwainer
02-21-2011, 06:51 AM
could you put a file with this issue up somewhere for us to test? Or I can PM you my email address. I have a TCXD300. I may not be able to check until ~8AM, GMT+9 on Wednesday, however, but I might get a chance Tuesday ~2:00PM GMT+9.

tarsierspectral
02-21-2011, 04:14 PM
could you put a file with this issue up somewhere for us to test? Or I can PM you my email address. I have a TCXD300. I may not be able to check until ~8AM, GMT+9 on Wednesday, however, but I might get a chance Tuesday ~2:00PM GMT+9.
Thanks, sent you a PM