PDA

View Full Version : Vray & Mental Ray

cgisoul
02-17-2011, 10:34 AM
Let me start by saying, this is not a Vray VS Mr, but Vray AND MR thread.
I've been learning MR (Maya) for the last 3 months and its quality is pretty good, however, its settings are pretty complicated for this artist mind here, not impossible though. Click here but don't click there, uncheck here but leave that checked. VRay... know its existence for many years, but never tried and heard good things about it. Have anyone used Vray and could share his/her experience? How intuitive compared to mR?

Thank you

MrWyatt
02-17-2011, 10:41 AM
basicalli it isn't all that different. The possibilities for tweaking are as large as in mr, hence it is just as hard to learn. It handles glossy reflections and refractions better than mr on the other hand mr seems to handle sss a lot better and faster too. It really depends what you want to do. But in a nutshell, when it comes to complexity, then vray and mr aren't all that different.

cgisoul
02-17-2011, 10:53 PM
basicalli it isn't all that different. The possibilities for tweaking are as large as in mr, hence it is just as hard to learn. It handles glossy reflections and refractions better than mr on the other hand mr seems to handle sss a lot better and faster too. It really depends what you want to do. But in a nutshell, when it comes to complexity, then vray and mr aren't all that different.

I see. Thank you for letting me know. I guess I'm holding onto MR then. I was just very curious as a lot of people say good things about Vray.

cresshead
02-18-2011, 01:05 PM
to make a quick simple assesment

vray and mental ray are indeed quite similar BUT...the main difference is in the default settings and materials..vray with default settings gives you nicer results without trying very hard at all and there are a massive amount of high quality FREE materials available for Vray whereas you have to work at mr to make good materials yourself.