PDA

View Full Version : LW on Laptops / Powerbooks...?

Karl Hansson
09-30-2003, 12:11 PM
Hello I'm a student at a computer animation school. I need to get my self a computer. Due to my accommodation situation it would be best to have a laptop or a powerbook. Are there any good portable computers that will run LW and other 3D applications? Any tips?

Tronam
09-30-2003, 12:42 PM
Well, this thread may inevitably be doomed when you mentioned a PC or Mac laptop, but I'll throw in my few cents.

LightWave has been running beautifully on my Dell Inspiron 8200, P4-2.2GHz with the Radeon 9000 mobility. Especially after a few "modifications" and installing the FireGL drivers. ;)

I have a hard time recommending the Mac laptops for 3D. They are brilliantly designed, but their OpenGL performance is lackluster and CPU performance not up to par with equivelently priced P4 based PC laptops. It's not a flame, just real world observation. As an owner of both platforms, I get to love and hate both platforms equally.

Hopefully, IBM will develop a low-power derivitive G5 CPU for future Apple laptops to keep them competitive.

-Tronam

duderender
09-30-2003, 12:55 PM
Lets not forget that the hard drive performance in the apple notebooks is terrible at best. A 4500rpm drive??

The PC notebooks seem to pack more power, but in far less sexy clothing when compared to apple's.

Karl Hansson
09-30-2003, 01:24 PM
So your dell is running fine. I've been thinking about getting me a Dell. But how is the 3D performance compared to a desktop. I just whant to get an idea of what speeds and workflow I can expect to get from a laptop. My limit is about 2500 (thats some where around $3800 I think).

duderender
09-30-2003, 02:19 PM
Karl / Tronam

I have a Dell M50, which is their desktop workstation replacement utilizing a Quadro4 nVidia graphics card.