PDA

View Full Version : Bake world motion?



Mr Rid
02-11-2011, 11:04 PM
I have an item several places down in a hierachy of animated items (IK is in the mix) that I want to unparent while keeping its world motion. Dont know if I ever had to do this before. Keyframer plug does not seem to do what I want. Motion Baker causes the object to jump around all over the scene. BakeMotionToNull plug is making an odd motion stretched out over thousands of frames. Output World Coords is resulting in a motion that is just not world coord. I tried adding GMbaker/Control plugs, but the 'GMbaker Control' shows up in Layout while the 'GMbaker' part does not(?). I give up. Why am I not finding an easy way to do this?

nickdigital
02-11-2011, 11:07 PM
Have you tried Mental Fish's Motion Baker?
http://mentalfish.com/

Or this:
http://www.lwplugindb.com/Plugin.aspx?id=2282b3e4

Can't remember which one worked the best but the native LW options don't always do what you want. Go figure.

Maybe this'll help too.
http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=115066&highlight=motion+baker

Mr Rid
02-11-2011, 11:18 PM
The MentalFish plug does not bake/preserve world motion. And yes, D-Storm's Output World Coords is suppose to work but is not. I assume the problem here is IK.

nickdigital
02-11-2011, 11:37 PM
Ah...IK is in the mix. I guess you could bake out your IK and then use Output World Coords. A long way to achieve something that should be a one-click operation.

That's what I did in this scene file.

It's late so I'm a little low on ideas...Sorry.

tischbein3
02-12-2011, 12:31 AM
hi,
has FSPE been activated before baking ?

chris

Cageman
02-12-2011, 02:49 AM
I just released a tutorial related to this as well as a way to achive motion referencing for keyframe data.

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?p=1111609#post1111609

:)

Mr Rid
02-12-2011, 03:20 AM
I just released a tutorial ...[/url]


Youch, if it requires a tutorial I'll just keyframe the damn thing. :) Am sure it's about other useful info as well.



has FSPE been activated before baking ?

chris

That was the trick I meant to try earlier, that worked with the Output World Coords plug. Thanx for reminding.

Scan MDD, and ClothFX Edit 'make path' of a vertice worked too for me. I was also wanting the motion (not an MDD mesh) to apply to an emitter that refused to work when otherwise parented in the hierarchy.

Cageman
02-12-2011, 03:28 AM
Youch, if it requires a tutorial I'll just keyframe the damn thing. :) I know it's about other useful info as well.

Haha.. yeah. :)

Well... the video is about how to set things up if you got the time to do so and what it will give you at the end of the day.. pipeline related stuff. :)

If you get the time to take a look at the video it might give you some ideas for future projects. The constraining method used is not limited to what I show in the video, you can, for example, constrain a null to a specific vertex using Node Item Motion or other constrainttypes found under Motion modifiers.

:)